AI Assistants & Chatbots

Perplexity AI Review Australia 2026: Best for Research?

By Adam · 16 May 2026 · 14 min read
21/25
Very Good
Perplexity AI
Verified 21 Sep 2026 Reviewed 16 May 2026
Value for Money5/5
Ease of Use5/5
Feature Depth4/5
Australian Fit3/5
Reliability & Support4/5
Best for
Researchers, analysts, and consultants who need cited, real-time information faster than…
From
A$24/mo · ex-GST · billed in USD
Your data
US-based. No Australian data residency option advertised on any tier as of 16 May 2026 — including Enterprise Max

The gate: Australian Fit 3/5 does not clear the gate, so the raw 21/25 wears four stars, not five.

Skip to the verdict

Pricing figures updated 6 September 2026: USD prices are converted at the current rate (1 USD ≈ 1.40 AUD, verified 5 September 2026) and shown ex-GST, replacing the retired 1.55 + GST basis. A GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service; other buyers should allow ~10% on top (Methodology).

UPDATED — 16 May 2026. Our 9 May 2026 review missed the Q1 2026 product cycle. Model Council (5 February 2026) runs a single query through three frontier models — Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-5.5 and Gemini 3.1 Pro — and synthesises the output. Deep Research now runs on Claude Opus 4.6 (since 13 February 2026, anchored by both Perplexity and Anthropic). Perplexity Computer (25 February 2026) is an agentic system that runs entire workflows for hours. Comet (the in-browser agentic assistant) is now on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. And Enterprise Max at USD$325/seat/month is now available on single-seat (down from a 50-seat minimum). Feature Depth lifts from 3/5 to 4/5; overall score from 20/25 to 21/25. The original review is preserved in our archive.

Update — 20 September 2026: The product-by-product model names in the sections below — Deep Research on Claude Opus 4.6, Model Council on Opus 4.6, GPT-5.5 and Gemini 3.1 Pro, and the Comet Agent defaults — are accurate as at the February to May 2026 changelog entries they cite. Perplexity's pricing page now publishes a different roster: GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5, Kimi K3, GLM 5.3 and Grok 4.6. Which model sits behind each product today is not stated on any page we could read, so we have left the dated claims as dated claims rather than guess. Read them as history, not as today's line-up.

Superseded 21 September 2026: the note above is wrong on one point and we are leaving it visible rather than deleting it. Perplexity's help centre does publish some of this, and we had only read the pricing page. Deep Research is still documented as running Opus 4.6 for Max (help centre, last modified 15 September 2026); Model Council's line-up is now described generically and is user-selectable, so the fixed trio named below was wrong and has been corrected; the Comet Agent's per-tier defaults are genuinely unpublished and have been removed. Details in the update history above.

Perplexity is the best AI tool for research in 2026 — and Australians are still underusing it. It's not a chatbot; it's a cited-sources research engine that searches the live web for every query, finds the best sources, synthesises an answer, and shows you exactly where each claim came from. The free tier is genuinely capable. The Pro plan at roughly AUD$28/month will pay for itself within a month for anyone doing regular due diligence, competitive analysis, or market intelligence. The Q1 2026 product cycle moved Perplexity from "specialist search tool" to "multi-product research platform" — Model Council, Perplexity Computer, and Comet Agent are each genuinely novel. For the right Australian professional, this is the most-overlooked AI subscription on the market.

What it does well

Every answer comes with cited sources. Perplexity's core value proposition still holds: you can see exactly where each piece of information came from and verify it yourself. For lawyers, financial analysts, researchers, and journalists, that's the feature (perplexity.ai/help-center).

Deep Research runs on an Anthropic Opus model. Perplexity moved Deep Research to Opus 4.6 on 13 February 2026, and its help centre still names Opus 4.6 Thinking for Max and Opus 4.5 Thinking for Pro (Perplexity help centre, last modified 15 September 2026). Treat that with one caveat: the same help centre's model roster, updated five days earlier, lists Claude Opus 5 and Claude Sonnet 5 and no 4.6 anywhere (model list). Perplexity is contradicting itself on which Opus you get, and we are not going to guess. What is not in doubt is the output: structured multi-source research reports that genuinely save hours per query for investment, due diligence, or competitor work. Pro users get limited daily Deep Research; Max is unlimited.

Model Council — unique in the category. Launched 5 February 2026 on the Max tier, Model Council runs your query through three frontier models in parallel, then a synthesiser reconciles the outputs. Perplexity now describes the default line-up generically — one frontier model each from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google — and lets you swap any of the three from a picker in the search bar; inside Perplexity Computer you can run between two and eight (Perplexity help centre, read 21 September 2026). At launch in February the trio was Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-5.5 and Gemini 3.1 Pro; the vendor no longer commits to specific versions, so neither do we. No other consumer AI does this. For high-stakes questions where you'd otherwise check the answer against three different chatbots manually, it's a one-step shortcut.

Perplexity Computer — agentic by default. Launched 25 February 2026 on the Max tier, Perplexity Computer creates and executes entire workflows that can run for hours. Personal Computer on Mac landed 17 April 2026, and the orchestration model upgraded to GPT-5.5 on 4 May 2026. On 29 May 2026 Computer landed inside Microsoft 365 — Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams — so the agent can build a deck or work a spreadsheet without leaving Office. And in June, Deep Research itself moved into Computer: you start with a research question and turn the result into a report, spreadsheet, deck, dashboard or follow-up workflow in the same place. It's on Max now and rolling out to Pro.

Comet browser puts the agent inside every page. Comet is Perplexity's browser — Mac, Windows, iOS, Android — and the Comet Agent runs inside it. Comet has its own model selector, separate from Search, and Perplexity no longer publishes which model is the default on which tier: the help centre's model list defers to the Comet guide for "current availability", and the Comet guide names no models at all (both read 21 September 2026). We named Sonnet 4.6 for Pro and Opus 4.6 for Max earlier in the year; neither is defensible now, so both have been dropped rather than left standing. Free download, all tiers.

Free tier remains one of the best in the category. Five Pro Search queries per day plus unlimited standard searches. Genuinely useful without paying anything. Worth trying before you spend a cent.

Watch out for

It's a specialist tool, not a full AI assistant. Perplexity is built for search and research, not for writing long documents, generating images, or running long conversations. It's a complement to ChatGPT or Claude, not a substitute. Most professional users will run Perplexity alongside one of those.

USD pricing only. Pro is USD$20/month (or USD$200/year), which lands at roughly AUD$28/month after FX, ex-GST. Not transparent the way Gemini's native AUD pricing is.

No AU data residency, and no IRAP. Re-read on 20 September 2026: the enterprise page now states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS compliance and guarantees no training on your data — our May 2026 reading found no SOC 2 statement on the public pages, and that is corrected here in Perplexity's favour. What is still missing is the part that matters most locally: no IRAP listing and no Australian data residency option on any tier, including Enterprise. For regulated work — health, finance, government — that remains a hard limitation, and Microsoft Copilot is still the AU answer for those use cases.

Five Pro Search/day cap on free tier bites quickly. Casual users hit it. Anyone doing serious work will need Pro within a week.

Max-tier features are real but priced for power users. Model Council, Perplexity Computer, unlimited Deep Research, and unlimited Labs all sit on the Max tier. Excellent if you're a full-time analyst or researcher; harder to justify for a small business owner.

Niche AU topics can have patchy source quality. Major topics with broad web coverage are excellent. Highly local or recent AU events sometimes pull thinner sources. Verify before quoting.

Pricing

Plan Price (AUD est., ex-GST) What you get
Free $0 Standard search, unlimited; 5 Pro Search/day
Pro (annual) ~A$24/month (USD$17/month billed annually) Unlimited Pro Search, deep research, model choice, expanded Computer access, Comet Agent
Pro (monthly) ~A$28/month (USD$20) Same as Pro annual; the monthly rate is not shown on the pricing page and is carried from our earlier record
Max (annual) ~A$235/month (USD$167/month billed annually) Pro + Perplexity Computer, Model Council, maximum Computer usage, expert-level research, 10,000 monthly credits + bonus credits
Enterprise Pro ~A$48/seat/month (USD$34 billed annually) Business data controls, team features, 500 monthly Computer credits per seat, SSO
Enterprise Max ~A$381/seat/month (USD$271 billed annually) Max + premium security: SCIM, audit logs, configurable data retention, real-time analytics — single-seat unlock since 4 May 2026

Sources: perplexity.ai/pro · perplexity.ai/enterprise/pricing · perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-max, read 20 September 2026. Perplexity displays annual-billing rates only and does not name the currency ("$ … or equivalent"); USD is assumed on the record. AUD estimates at 1.4045 (Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026), ex-GST. Perplexity bills in USD.

Value verdict: The free tier is excellent and you should try it first. Pro on annual billing at roughly AUD$24/month is the value play — about 15% less than monthly billing and nearly the cheapest premium AI in the category. Max is power-user territory; if you run Model Council and Perplexity Computer daily, the price is defensible, but most readers will be fine on Pro. Enterprise Max is the right call for any AU business that wants Perplexity's research stack with proper data controls — the single-seat unlock since 4 May 2026 makes it usable by small teams.

Australian notes

  • Available in Australia: Yes — full access including Comet browser on Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android (perplexity.ai/comet)
  • Pricing in AUD: No — USD only; AUD lands on your card via your bank's FX rate plus GST
  • GST: Not explicitly documented on Perplexity's pricing pages as of 16 May 2026. Standard practice for US AI vendors selling to AU is to apply GST at checkout — verify against your first invoice
  • Data residency: US-based. No Australian data residency option advertised on any tier as of 16 May 2026 — including Enterprise Max
  • Local support: No local hours. Community forum and help centre only
  • Compliance certifications: None publicly advertised on the enterprise pages reviewed in this pass. No IRAP statement
  • Local relevance: Generally strong on AU business news and broadly covered topics; depth varies on niche AU subjects

Best for

  • Researchers, analysts, and consultants who need cited, real-time information faster than they can find it themselves
  • Business owners tracking competitors, market trends, or industry intelligence — Deep Research, running an Anthropic Opus model, produces structured reports in minutes that would take a junior analyst hours
  • Anyone frustrated by AI hallucinations — the source-first model dramatically reduces fabricated information
  • Pro-tier ChatGPT or Claude users adding a second tool — Perplexity is the best complement to either, not a replacement

Not great for

  • Long-form writing, content production, or creative work — use ChatGPT or Claude
  • Sensitive, regulated, or government-classified data — no IRAP, no AU data residency, no advertised AU compliance certifications
  • Casual users who don't research regularly — the free tier is excellent for occasional use; Pro and Max are wasted on someone who'd use them once a fortnight
  • Anyone needing image generation, voice mode, or coding agents — none of these are Perplexity's strengths

Alternatives worth considering

App Why you might prefer it
Claude Better for long documents, professional writing, and reasoning. Sydney office and AU Government MOU
ChatGPT Broader feature set — image gen, voice mode, Custom GPTs, Codex
Google Gemini Native AUD pricing, two Australian data centres, IRAP certified
Microsoft Copilot Better choice for regulated AU work — IRAP PROTECTED data residency

Our verdict

Perplexity is the best AI tool for research in 2026 and the single most-overlooked subscription in this category for serious Australian operators. Pro on annual billing at roughly A$24/month is the value pick — deep research alone will return its cost within a few weeks for anyone doing investment, due diligence, or competitive work. Max is genuinely defensible for full-time analysts and researchers thanks to Model Council and Perplexity Computer; everyone else should stay on Pro. The catch is the AU compliance posture — no IRAP and no AU data residency on any tier, though the enterprise page now states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS. For regulated or government work, Microsoft Copilot is still the AU answer. For everything else research-shaped, this is the most underrated AI on the market. Try the free tier this week. The five daily Pro Searches will show you what you've been missing.

Scores

Criterion Score
Value for Money 5/5
Ease of Use 5/5
Feature Depth 4/5
Australian Fit 3/5
Reliability & Support 4/5
Total 21/25

Score change since 9 May 2026: Feature Depth 3/5 → 4/5 reflecting the verified Q1 2026 product cycle (Model Council, Perplexity Computer, Deep Research on Claude Opus 4.6, Comet Agent across Pro and Max, Enterprise Max single-seat unlock). Total moves from 20/25 to 21/25. AU Fit holds at 3/5 — no AU-specific changes; if Perplexity adds AU data residency or IRAP certification on any tier, the score lifts further.

Why four stars on a 21/25? Our Australian Fit gate reserves ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Excellent for tools scoring at least 4/5 on Australian Fit. Perplexity scores 3/5, so it's rated ⭐⭐⭐⭐ — the best research tool here and a strong recommendation, just not "Excellent for Australians" until it adds local pricing or residency. The 21/25 criteria total stands.


Reviewed by The AI Directory Australia. Last updated 16 May 2026 (full rewrite from verified dossier; original 9 May 2026 version preserved in archive). Pricing verified against perplexity.ai/pro and perplexity.ai/enterprise/pricing. Subject to change — verify on the vendor pages before purchasing.


Update history
  • 21 Sep 2026 — Model claims corrected against Perplexity's own help centre. The 20 September note below said which model sits behind each product "is not stated on any page we could read". That was wrong — it was read off the pricing page alone. Perplexity's help centre does state it, on three pages read today. What they say: (a) Model Council's default line-up is "one frontier model each from Anthropic, OpenAI, and Google", user-selectable, three at a time on web — not the fixed Opus 4.6 / GPT-5.5 / Gemini 3.1 Pro trio this review named (What is Model Council?); that claim was wrong and is corrected below. (b) Deep Research still names Opus 4.6 for Max and Opus 4.5 "gradually" for Pro on a page last modified 15 September 2026 (What's New in Advanced Deep Research) — so that claim survives, but the same help centre's model roster, last modified 10 September 2026, lists Claude Opus 5 and Claude Sonnet 5 and no 4.6 at all (What advanced AI models are included in my subscription?). Perplexity contradicts itself; the review now says so rather than picking a side. (c) The Comet Agent per-tier model defaults are no longer published anywhere — the models article points to the Comet guide for "current availability" and the Comet guide names no models — so the Sonnet 4.6 / Opus 4.6 split has been removed rather than left stale. The roster page also reads Gemini 3.7 Flash, not the Gemini 3.8 Flash recorded from the pricing page yesterday, and adds GPT-5.6 Sol, Sonar 2 and Nemotron 3 Ultra. No score change: Feature Depth rests on Model Council, Computer and Deep Research existing, not on which model version runs them. Wayback: capture pending (archive.org unavailable 21 Sep 2026).
  • 20 Sep 2026 — Pricing read live for the first time since 18 May. The pages now show annual-billing rates only: Pro US$17/month "or equivalent, when billed annually", Max US$167/month, Enterprise Pro US$34/seat/month and Enterprise Max US$271/seat/month. Those reconcile with the US$20 and US$200 monthly and US$200/year Pro figures on our record, and with Enterprise Pro US$40 and Enterprise Max US$325 monthly — an annual discount, not a price cut, so no price change is recorded. The monthly rates are not displayed on the page and are carried from the earlier record. Two things did change. Perplexity now publishes its model roster as GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5, Kimi K3, GLM 5.3 and Grok 4.6 — none of the Opus 4.6, GPT-5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro or Sonnet 4.6 versions this review names against individual products. And the enterprise page now states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS compliance and "guaranteed no training on your data", where this review said no SOC 2 statement could be found on the public enterprise pages; that claim is corrected below. Read in the in-app browser on an Australian render. AUD equivalents at 1.4045 (Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026), ex-GST. Source · Enterprise · Wayback: capture pending (archive.org unavailable 20 Sep 2026)
  • 7 Sep 2026 — Two prose figures (A$29 annual, A$34 monthly) that pre-dated the September currency rebase brought into line with the pricing table (A$23.33 / A$28 at 1.40 ex-GST).
  • 28 Jun 2026 — Re-checked against current vendor pricing (no change — Pro USD$20/mo, Max USD$200/mo). Deep Research moved into Perplexity Computer (still on Claude Opus 4.6), and Computer launched inside Microsoft 365 (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Teams). Source
  • 4 May 2026 — Enterprise Max controls opened to single seats; GPT-5.5 default in Computer for Pro/Max. Source
  • 17 Apr 2026 — Personal Computer launched natively on Mac. Source
  • 27 Mar 2026 — Comet for iOS opened to all users. Source
  • 25 Feb 2026 — Perplexity Computer launched (agentic digital worker). Source
  • 13 Feb 2026 — Deep Research upgraded to Claude Opus 4.6. Source
  • 5 Feb 2026 — Model Council launched (three frontier models in parallel). Source
  • 16 May 2026 — First reviewed.

Frequently asked questions

Is Perplexity available in Australia?

Yes — full access, including the Comet browser on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. The free tier alone gives unlimited standard searches plus five Pro Searches a day, so you can try it without paying a cent.

Does Perplexity charge in AUD?

No. Pricing is USD only, so AUD lands on your card via your bank's FX rate. Perplexity displays Pro at US$17/month billed annually, roughly A$24 ex-GST at 1.4045 (18 September 2026). The US$20 monthly rate on our record is no longer shown on the page and works out around A$28.

Is there a free plan or free trial?

Yes — a genuinely capable free tier with unlimited standard searches and five Pro Search queries a day. It's one of the best free tiers in the category. Serious researchers will hit the daily cap within a week and want Pro.

Is Perplexity suitable for regulated Australian work?

Not for the regulated end of it. As of September 2026 the enterprise page states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and PCI DSS compliance, but there is still no IRAP listing and no Australian data residency on any tier, including Enterprise. For health, finance or government work, Microsoft Copilot is the Australian answer, not Perplexity.

Who is Perplexity best for?

Researchers, analysts, consultants and business owners tracking competitors or market intelligence — anyone needing cited, real-time answers fast. It's a research specialist, not a full assistant, so most users run it alongside ChatGPT or Claude rather than instead of them.

Source archive — Wayback snapshots (captured 3 June 2026)

Per the Verification & Sourcing Standard, the primary sources referenced in this review are archived below. Fuller source lists are held in the corresponding verified dossier. Captured via web.archive.org Save Page Now on 3 June 2026.

  1. https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/ — Wayback snapshot
  2. https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/what-we-shipped---february-13-2026 — Wayback snapshot
  3. https://www.anthropic.com/news/claude-opus-4-6 — Wayback snapshot
  4. https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-model-council — Wayback snapshot
  5. https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-computer — Wayback snapshot
  6. https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/personal-computer-on-mac-launch-and-computer-updates---april-17-2026 — Wayback snapshot
  7. https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/improved-computer-models-and-enterprise-updates---may-4-2026 — Wayback snapshot
  8. https://www.perplexity.ai/comet — Wayback snapshot
  9. https://www.perplexity.ai/max — Wayback snapshot
  10. https://www.perplexity.ai/pro — Wayback snapshot
  11. https://www.perplexity.ai/enterprise/pricing — Wayback snapshot
  12. https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-max — Wayback snapshot (launch-day capture, 21 Feb 2026; content stable)

Added 21 September 2026 — the three help-centre pages the model claims above are now anchored to. Wayback: capture pending (archive.org returned HTTP 500/429 on 20 and 21 September 2026; queued in Operations/wayback-pending-2026-09-20.md).

  1. https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/10354919-what-advanced-ai-models-are-included-in-my-subscription — model roster by plan; last modified 10 September 2026, snapshot stated "as of September 4, 2026" — Wayback: capture pending
  2. https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/13600190-what-s-new-in-advanced-deep-research — Deep Research model by tier; last modified 15 September 2026 — Wayback: capture pending
  3. https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/13641704-what-is-model-council — Model Council line-up and plan availability — Wayback: capture pending
  4. https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/11172798-getting-started-with-comet — Comet guide; names no models, last modified 4 September 2026 — Wayback: capture pending

Price Watch · Free

Know before your AI bill changes

A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.

Check your inbox to confirm — that's it.

Free. We never sell your address. Privacy.