Audio, Voice & Podcasting

WellSaid Labs Review Australia 2026: Clean corporate voiceover, but English-only and priced for teams

By Adam · 3 Jun 2026 · 12 min read
13/25
Good
WellSaid Labs
Verified 1 Oct 2026 Reviewed 3 Jun 2026
Value for Money2/5
Ease of Use4/5
Feature Depth3/5
Australian Fit2/5
Reliability & Support2/5
From
A$14/mo · ex-GST · billed in USD
Your data
None advertised. US-based vendor, no AU region.

The gate: Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.

Skip to the verdict

Pricing figures updated 20 September 2026: USD prices are converted at the current rate (1 USD = 1.4045 AUD, Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026) and shown ex-GST, replacing the retired 1.55 + GST basis. A GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service; other buyers should allow ~10% on top (Methodology).

Verdict (TL;DR): WellSaid Labs makes some of the cleanest, most consistent English voiceovers you can buy — the kind of even, professional read that corporate training videos and e-learning modules need. If you're a team churning out high volumes of English narration and you value consistency over range, it earns its place. For almost everyone else in Australia, it's the wrong buy. The standard Starter, Pro and Business plans are English-only — multilingual is locked behind a quote-based Enterprise deal. There's no Australian-accent specialisation worth paying for, entry is cheap at roughly AUD$14 a month but buys only four hours of finished audio a year, and it's USD-billed with no AU data residency. If you're one person making marketing clips, ElevenLabs or Murf will do more for less.

Last reviewed: 20 September 2026 by Adam.

Who this is for (and who it isn't)

WellSaid Labs is built for a narrow buyer, and being honest about that up front saves you money.

WellSaid is for you if you run a learning-and-development team, a corporate comms function, or a video studio that produces a steady stream of English voiceover — training modules, product explainers, internal updates, e-learning courses. You want voices that sound the same in episode 40 as they did in episode one, an editor your team can share, and clear commercial rights. For that job, WellSaid is genuinely good.

WellSaid is not for you if you're a solo creator, a small-business owner making the occasional ad or social clip, or anyone who needs voices in languages other than English. The price assumes volume you probably don't have, and the multilingual library you might need is gated behind an Enterprise quote. For those readers, our best AI voice generators roundup points to ElevenLabs and Murf first, and for good reason.

With that said, here's what WellSaid does, what it costs an Australian, and where the limits bite.

What WellSaid Labs is

WellSaid Labs is a text-to-speech platform that turns typed scripts into spoken voiceover. It describes itself as "the only AI voice generator built with real voice actors," and that framing is the whole pitch: rather than chasing the most expressive or most cloneable voices, WellSaid optimises for clean, repeatable, broadcast-safe corporate reads (WellSaid — homepage).

The platform offers more than 120 AI voices and leans hard into enterprise use cases — corporate training, learning and development, product marketing, internal communications and video production (WellSaid — homepage). It lists Microsoft, Adobe, Amazon, Google and LinkedIn among its customers, which tells you who it's built to please. This is not a hobbyist tool that grew up; it started enterprise and stayed there.

What you get inside the product is a script editor, a voice library, pronunciation controls, and — on the team plans — a shared workspace with commenting and collaboration. You paste a script, pick a voice, adjust the read, and export audio. The appeal for a corporate team is consistency: the same narrator across a whole course library, with no studio booking and no re-records when a slide changes.

What it costs in Australia

WellSaid bills in US dollars only. There's no AUD pricing on the site, so the figures below are converted at 1 USD = 1.4045 AUD (Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026) and shown ex-GST; an unregistered buyer should allow roughly 10% on top under Australia's imported-digital-services rules.

Plan Price (USD) Price (AUD est., ex-GST) What you get
Trial $0 $0 No credit card; 3 download minutes a month and no commercial rights — enough to hear the voices, not enough to ship anything
Starter USD$10/mo billed annually (USD$120/yr) · USD$19/mo monthly ~AUD$14/mo (~AUD$27 monthly) 1 seat, 240 download minutes a year (20 a month on monthly billing), 10 projects, all English voices, full commercial rights, caption files, 24 kHz
Pro USD$33/mo billed annually (USD$396/yr) · USD$49/mo monthly ~AUD$46/mo (~AUD$69 monthly) 1 seat, 2,160 download minutes a year (180 a month on monthly billing), unlimited projects, all English voices, Adobe Express integration, up to 48 kHz
Business USD$160/mo per user, billed annually (USD$1,920/yr) ~AUD$225/mo per user Up to 5 seats, 2,880 download minutes a year per user, English only, team workspace, collaborator seats, live chat, invoicing, Adobe Premiere Pro integration
Enterprise Custom (quote, billed annually) Custom Custom seats and minutes, all languages plus translation, up to 96 kHz, SSO and security controls, priority support

Pricing re-read 20 September 2026. Source: wellsaid.io/ai-voice-pricing, now the canonical home after wellsaidlabs.com began redirecting there. Every figure is taken directly from the vendor pricing page; Enterprise is quote-based, and the page notes its rates are for new customers. WellSaid publishes no AU-specific GST guidance, so confirm the exact GST line on your first invoice and check the tax invoice carries an ABN or equivalent for your accountant.

Value verdict: The entry price has come a long way down. Starter is roughly AUD$14 a month on annual billing, with full commercial rights and an English-only voice library — a very different proposition from the AUD$77 Creative plan it replaced. What you get for it is thin: 240 download minutes a year is four hours of finished audio, so a solo creator publishing weekly will run out. Pro triples the price and nine-times the minutes, which is the honest comparison to make against Murf and ElevenLabs. At team scale the sums got worse, not better: Business is AUD$225 a month per user, so five seats is over AUD$1,100 a month, not the single AUD$224 line this review previously described. WellSaid is now cheap to try and expensive to staff.

How it works in practice

The workflow is deliberately plain, and that's the point. You open the editor, paste your script, choose a voice from the library, and the platform reads it back. You can adjust pronunciation, fix the odd mangled word, and break long scripts into manageable sections. There's no learning curve worth mentioning — anyone who can use a word processor can produce a voiceover in minutes.

Where WellSaid earns its corporate reputation is consistency. The voices don't drift. A narrator you picked for module one sounds identical in module twelve, recorded weeks apart, which matters enormously when you're maintaining a course library that gets edited piecemeal over a year. That reliability is the feature, even though it's the least flashy thing about the product.

On the team plans, the shared workspace adds commenting and collaboration, plus integrations with Adobe Express and Premiere Pro so your video editors aren't shuffling files by hand (WellSaid — pricing). Export options widen too — the team tier adds WAV, OGG and caption files (SRT, VTT) on top of the entry plans' narrower export set.

What you won't find is the expressive, emotional range that ElevenLabs has made its name on, or the casual creator features that make Murf friendly for one-person shops. WellSaid is voiceover for the boardroom, not the bedroom studio. Plug a script in and you get a clean, even, professional read — every time, with little fuss and little surprise.

What it does well

  • Consistency that holds up over time. The voices don't wander between sessions. For a training library maintained over months, that repeatability is worth more than raw expressiveness — and it's WellSaid's single strongest card.
  • Clean, professional corporate reads. The default output is broadcast-safe and even-toned. No weird emphasis, no theatrics — exactly what e-learning and internal comms want.
  • Team workflow that actually works. The Business plan's shared workspace, commenting, multiple export formats and Adobe integrations make it a real team tool, not a single-user app with extra seats bolted on.
  • Clear commercial rights on every paid plan. Commercial usage is included from Starter upward, so there's no licensing ambiguity when your voiceover ships in a paid course or a client video.
  • Enterprise-grade security posture. WellSaid is SOC 2 Type 2 certified and GDPR-compliant, with SSO and dedicated support on Enterprise (WellSaid — pricing). For a risk-conscious corporate buyer, that ticks boxes ElevenLabs and Murf are quieter about.

What it doesn't do well

  • English only — unless you pay for Enterprise. This is the headline limitation. The Starter, Pro and Business plans support English voices only; the full multilingual library (Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian and more) is gated behind a quote-based Enterprise deal (WellSaid — pricing). If you need so much as a French read, you can't just upgrade a tier — you have to enter a sales conversation.
  • No Australian-accent specialisation worth paying for. There's an Australian English voice in the library, but no meaningful AU localisation beyond that single option. You're paying enterprise prices for what is, for Australian purposes, a US-accented product with one local voice.
  • Thin allowance at the entry price. Starter is cheap at roughly AUD$14 a month, but 240 download minutes a year is four hours of finished audio, and the trial gives you three minutes a month with no commercial rights — so you cannot ship a real test file before you pay.
  • USD-only billing, no AU data residency. You're charged in US dollars at your bank's FX rate, with GST added at checkout. No AU hosting region is advertised, and the pricing page makes no mention of GST, ABN or Australian tax invoices — confirm all of that on your first bill (WellSaid — pricing).
  • Download caps you have to watch. Even Enterprise tops out at 4,300 downloads a year. Heavy producers need to plan around the cap rather than treating output as unlimited.

Australian fit

  • Available in Australia: Yes — no geographic restriction. Self-serve signup and the free trial work globally. (wellsaid.io/ai-voice-pricing)
  • Pricing in AUD: No. USD only. Expect roughly AUD$14/month landed on Starter, or AUD$46 on Pro, after FX, ex-GST.
  • GST: Not stated anywhere on the pricing page. Expect 10% added at checkout under Australia's imported-digital-services rules — confirm on your first invoice and check it's a compliant tax invoice with an ABN for your accountant.
  • Australian accent: One Australian English voice exists in the library, but there's no broader AU localisation. Not a selling point for local buyers.
  • Data residency: None advertised. US-based vendor, no AU region. SOC 2 Type 2 certified and GDPR-compliant, which helps a compliance review but is not the same as local data residency. (wellsaid.io/ai-voice-pricing)
  • Local AU support: None. Email support on Starter, live chat on Business, priority support on Enterprise — but no AU office, AU hours or phone line.

Alternatives

App Why you might prefer it
ElevenLabs The quality and range leader — expressive voices, strong Australian-accent control, and multilingual on far cheaper plans. The pick if voice quality and flexibility matter most. (Best AI voice generators →)
Murf The calmer buy for a typical Australian small business — predictable pricing, a friendly editor, and no enterprise sales call to unlock languages. Where we'd point most solo creators first.
Speechify Built for listening, not producing — turning articles, PDFs and documents into audio you consume hands-free. A different job to WellSaid's.

Bottom line

WellSaid Labs is good at exactly one thing, and it does that thing well: clean, consistent, professional English voiceover at team scale. If you run a learning-and-development function or a corporate video studio producing high volumes of English narration, it's a defensible buy — the consistency, the shared workspace and the SOC 2 posture all earn their keep, though the Business plan is AUD$225 a month per user, so five seats is over AUD$1,100 a month.

For everyone else, the case falls apart. The English-only restriction on the standard plans is the deal-breaker: needing any other language forces you into an Enterprise quote rather than a simple upgrade. There's no Australian localisation worth paying for, the trial gives you three download minutes a month with no commercial rights, and the whole thing is USD-billed with no local data residency. A solo creator or small business will get more range and better value from ElevenLabs or Murf.

It scores 13/25 — solidly Good for its narrow corporate niche, held back by the language gate, the price-for-value mismatch and a weak Australian fit. If you're a high-volume English corporate team, shortlist it. If you're anyone else, start with our voice generators roundup instead.

Score

Criterion Score Notes
Value for Money 2/5 Starter is cheap at ~AUD$14/mo but allows only four hours of finished audio a year; the trial ships nothing usable; Business is per user, so team scale costs more than it looks. Cheaper rivals do more
Ease of Use 4/5 Plain, fast script-to-audio workflow with almost no learning curve; team collaboration tools are genuinely useful
Feature Depth 3/5 Strong on consistency, exports and team workflow; thin on expressive range, and multilingual is locked behind Enterprise
Australian Fit 2/5 USD-only billing, no AU data residency, one token AU voice, no AU support, GST not stated. SOC 2 / GDPR are the redeeming controls
Reliability & Support 2/5 Consistent output and SOC 2 Type 2 certification, but support is email-only on Starter and there are no AU business hours
Total 13/25 ⭐⭐⭐ Good
Update history
  • 1 Oct 2026 — Prices re-checked on WellSaid's pricing page from Australia: unchanged. Starter US$10 a month billed annually (US$19 monthly), Pro US$33 (US$49), Business US$160 a user billed annually; the trial stays free. Priced in US dollars. Archived copy.
  • 20 Sep 2026 — WellSaid has moved to wellsaid.io (wellsaidlabs.com/pricing redirects there) and re-cut the whole ladder as "WellSaid AI Voice Studio". The Creative plan (US$55/month, US$50/month billed yearly) is no longer offered. In its place: Starter at US$10/month billed annually (US$120/year, 240 download minutes a year) or US$19/month monthly, and Pro at US$33/month billed annually (US$396/year, 2,160 minutes a year) or US$49/month monthly. Business is US$160/month per user billed annually (US$1,920/year, 2,880 minutes a year per user, up to 5 seats) — the same headline figure we recorded, but the page states it per user, where this review previously read it as a five-seat total. The free trial now includes 3 download minutes a month with no commercial rights, where it previously allowed no downloads at all. English-only on the paid individual and team tiers is unchanged: Starter, Pro and Business list "All English voices", and only Enterprise lists all languages and translation. AUD equivalents at 1.4045 (Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026), ex-GST. Source · Wayback: capture pending (archive.org unavailable 20 Sep 2026)
  • 3 June 2026 — First reviewed.

Frequently asked questions

Is WellSaid Labs available in Australia?

Yes — there's no geographic restriction, and the self-serve sign-up and free trial work globally. There's no Australian office, AU hours or phone line, though: support is email-only on Starter and Pro, and live chat on Business.

Does WellSaid charge in AUD?

No. WellSaid bills in US dollars only, so you wear your bank's FX rate. Starter lands around A$14/month and Pro around A$46/month on annual billing, ex-GST at 1.4045 (18 September 2026); an unregistered buyer should allow roughly 10% on top. GST isn't stated on the pricing page — confirm the line and the tax-invoice detail on your first bill.

Is there a free plan or trial?

There's a free trial with no credit card, but it allows only three download minutes a month and no commercial rights, so you can't ship a real test file before paying. The cheapest paid plan, Starter, is ~A$14/month on annual billing for one English-only seat.

Does WellSaid do Australian accents or other languages?

Barely. There's one Australian English voice but no broader AU localisation. More importantly, the Starter, Pro and Business plans are English-only — all languages and translation are locked behind a quote-based Enterprise deal, so even one French read forces a sales conversation.

Who is WellSaid best for?

Learning-and-development teams and corporate video studios producing high volumes of English narration that needs to stay consistent across a course library. For solo creators or small businesses, ElevenLabs or Murf do more for less.

Sources

  1. WellSaid Labs — AI Voice pricing page (Starter USD$10/mo annual or USD$19 monthly; Pro USD$33/mo annual or USD$49 monthly; Business USD$160/mo per user annual; Enterprise quote-based; English-only standard plans; download-minute limits; SOC 2 Type 2 / GDPR) — wellsaid.io/ai-voice-pricing — checked 3 June 2026; re-checked 20 September 2026 (Wayback: capture pending, archive.org unavailable)
  2. WellSaid Labs — homepage ("only AI voice generator built with real voice actors," 120+ voices, corporate/e-learning/L&D use cases, enterprise client list, Australian English voice) — wellsaid.io — checked 3 June 2026

Exchange rate used: 1 USD = 1.4045 AUD (Frankfurter/ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026); figures shown ex-GST. An unregistered buyer should allow roughly 10% on top under Australia's imported-digital-services rules; GST is not confirmed on the vendor pricing page.


The AI Directory Australia is an independent editorial publication. We don't accept payment for positive reviews. Read our Methodology and Affiliate Disclosure pages.

Reviewed by Adam for The AI Directory Australia. First published 3 June 2026.


Price Watch · Free

Know before your AI bill changes

A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.

Check your inbox to confirm — that's it.

Free. We never sell your address. Privacy.