AI Assistants & Chatbots

ChatGPT vs Microsoft Copilot for Australian Business 2026: Which Should You Pick?

By Adam · 18 Jun 2026 · 11 min read
Head-to-head verdict

Our pick: ChatGPT. The verdict below says who should buy the other.

Pricing basis, updated 21 September 2026: both vendors bill Australians in Australian dollars, so every figure on this page is a real price and none of them is a conversion. Microsoft states its AUD prices include GST; OpenAI does not say either way on its pricing page, so confirm at checkout. A GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN can claim the GST back on a compliant tax invoice (Methodology).

Winner: ChatGPT for most individuals, solo professionals and small businesses — broader features, no platform lock-in, and nothing you have to buy underneath it. On sticker price ChatGPT is no longer the cheaper one: Plus is A$30/month against Copilot's A$26.91 promotional seat, so the cost case rests on what you already pay Microsoft rather than on the headline figure. Pick Microsoft Copilot if your business already runs on Microsoft 365, or if you have data-sovereignty rules that demand IRAP PROTECTED residency — it's the only assistant here that clears that bar.

Last reviewed: 18 June 2026 by Adam.

This is the AI-assistant decision most Australian businesses now face: the tool everyone already knows, or the one built into the Office apps you open every morning. Both scored an identical 21/25 in our reviews, so neither is a weak choice. But they win for opposite reasons. ChatGPT is the broadest single subscription on the market and needs nothing underneath it. Copilot is less a chatbot than a layer baked into Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams — and it's the only assistant in this category certified for Australia's most sensitive workloads. The decision comes down to where you work, what you spend, and how serious your data rules are.

At a glance

ChatGPT Microsoft Copilot
Our score 21/25 ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (AU Fit 3/5) 21/25 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (AU Fit 5/5)
Entry price (AUD) Free tier (with ads); Go A$13/mo Free Copilot Chat for eligible M365 customers
Paid plan most readers want Plus A$30/mo M365 Copilot Business A$26.91/user/mo inc GST (promo to 31 Dec 2026), plus an M365 licence underneath
AUD pricing Yes — native AUD (GST position not stated) Yes — native AUD, GST included
Data residency US on consumer plans; AU option on Enterprise AU (Sydney/Melbourne), IRAP PROTECTED
Ads Yes — Free and Go tiers (since 26 Mar 2026) No
Lives where you work Separate app/tab Inside Word, Excel, Outlook, Teams
Best for Individuals, solos, small business, content work M365-based teams, regulated/government work

What both tools actually do

Both are general-purpose AI assistants: draft and rewrite text, answer questions, summarise long documents, analyse data, and help with everyday knowledge work. For a non-technical owner, the core job — ask in plain English, get a usable draft or answer back — is broadly the same on either.

The difference is shape. ChatGPT is a standalone Swiss-army tool: writing, coding, image generation, voice mode, web browsing, Custom GPTs, Deep Research and code execution all under one subscription, accessed in its own app or browser tab. No competitor matches its sheer range under a single bill. Microsoft Copilot isn't a separate tab you switch to — it's the assistant that works inside Microsoft 365. Summarise a long email thread in Outlook, generate a first draft in Word, analyse a spreadsheet in Excel, or recap a Teams meeting you missed, all without leaving the app you're already in. Eligible M365 customers also get Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat free — the part most reviews miss. One quirk worth knowing: since Microsoft's 9 March 2026 Wave 3 announcement, Copilot lets you pick Claude as a model option alongside OpenAI's, so the two products aren't as far apart under the hood as they look.

Pricing in Australia

This is where the two diverge hard, because they price on completely different logic.

ChatGPT prices in Australian dollars, with nothing underneath it. The free tier is genuinely useful and stays free — but Australian Free and Go users now see ads ("Sponsored Tips," live in Australia since 26 March 2026). Go runs A$13/month, a useful entry point for casual users who hit the free limit. Plus — the plan most professionals want — is A$30/month. Pro starts from A$155/month across two usage tiers, but almost no individual reader needs either. OpenAI shows these prices natively to Australian visitors, so there is no exchange-rate guesswork; what it doesn't do is state whether they include GST, so check the line items at checkout. The one thing you don't pay is a prerequisite: ChatGPT works on its own, with no other subscription required.

Copilot is priced per user, in AUD, and currently discounted. Microsoft 365 Copilot Business is A$26.91/user/month on a promotional rate Microsoft has re-run for a new window, 1 July to 31 December 2026 (Source). Once the discount lapses, annual billing reverts to the standard A$31.40/user/month; monthly billing is A$37.68/user/month. Confirm the current figure on Microsoft's Australian pricing page before committing. The paid product also requires an underlying M365 Business or Enterprise licence, so the true cost sits on top of what you already pay for Office. For a 10-person team that's A$269+/month for Copilot alone. The redeeming detail: if you're already on a qualifying M365 plan, Copilot Chat is free — you have it right now.

On sticker price, ChatGPT no longer wins — and this page used to say it did. Plus at A$30/month is dearer than a Copilot Business seat at A$26.91 inc GST on the current promotion, and about level with the A$31.40 standard rate that returns on 1 January 2027. What decides it is what sits underneath. A Copilot seat requires an M365 Business or Enterprise licence you must also pay for, so for anyone not already on Microsoft 365 the real gap is A$30 against A$26.91 plus an Office subscription — and ChatGPT wins comfortably on total cost. For a business already paying for M365, the marginal cost of Copilot is the A$26.91, and it is the cheaper of the two. Copilot also makes financial sense when it's spread across a team that genuinely lives in Office all day — or when you just use the free Chat tier.

Where ChatGPT wins

  • The broadest capability set in the category. Writing, coding, image generation, voice, web browsing, Custom GPTs, Deep Research and code execution — all under one subscription. Nothing else here matches the range under a single bill.
  • Cheaper for an individual once you count everything. Plus is A$30/month with no platform prerequisite. That is more than a promotional Copilot seat at A$26.91, but a Copilot seat only works on top of an M365 Business or Enterprise licence you also have to buy — so for a solo user not already in Microsoft's ecosystem, ChatGPT is comfortably the cheaper route.
  • No platform lock-in. You don't need to run Microsoft 365 — or anything else — to get full value. That matters for the many small businesses that aren't all-in on Office.
  • It ships faster than anyone. The Q1 2026 cycle alone added the Go tier, Business price cuts, ChatGPT Images 2.0 and more. The tool you pay for today is meaningfully better than it was six months ago.
  • Best-in-class voice mode. Advanced Voice is conversational and low-latency — useful for hands-free drafting and brainstorming on the move.

Where Microsoft Copilot wins

  • It works where you already work. If your business runs on Outlook, Word, Excel and Teams, Copilot is the most natural fit available — the AI is inside the apps, not in a separate tab you have to remember to open.
  • IRAP PROTECTED data residency — and it's the only one here. Microsoft's Australian regions are IRAP certified at PROTECTED level, the highest classification for AU public-cloud workloads. No other assistant in this category clears that bar. ChatGPT has no IRAP statement at all. For government work, regulated industries or serious data-sovereignty rules, that's decisive.
  • Native AUD pricing with GST stated on the page. Both tools now quote Australian dollars, but Microsoft is the one that tells you the price includes GST. OpenAI leaves the tax treatment to the checkout. A small thing, and the kind of small thing that makes a bookkeeper's week easier.
  • A genuinely free entry point for M365 customers. If you're on a qualifying plan, Copilot Chat is already in your subscription at no extra cost.
  • Meeting intelligence and Excel. Copilot in Teams recaps missed meetings and pulls out action items; Excel Copilot builds formulas and charts from plain-English instructions, removing a real barrier for non-technical users.

Australian fit: not a dead heat

This is where the two part company, and it's the most important section for an Australian reader. Microsoft Copilot scores 5/5 on Australian Fit; ChatGPT scores 3/5. Copilot prices natively in AUD with GST included, hosts data in Sydney and Melbourne, and — uniquely in this category — holds IRAP certification at PROTECTED level. ChatGPT now prices natively in AUD too, which closes one of the gaps this section used to open with, but it doesn't state its GST treatment, it carries ads on its Free and Go tiers in Australia, it keeps consumer data US-resident (AU residency exists only on Enterprise), and it has no public IRAP statement for government work as of its review. Those three are what hold it at 3/5.

That gap has a hard consequence under our editorial rules. Even though ChatGPT scores the same 21/25 overall and wins on raw capability, its 3/5 Australian Fit means it cannot be named a category Top Pick under our Australian Fit gate — a tool that doesn't serve Australians strongly enough on local fit can be recommended, but not crowned the category winner. It's also why ChatGPT wears four stars on a 21/25 score while Copilot wears five. So ChatGPT can absolutely be the right tool for you as an individual — it just can't be the category's Australian Top Pick while its local fit sits at 3/5.

This comparison is general information, not professional advice. If you're handling regulated, government, or sensitive client data, confirm the data-residency and certification position in writing with the vendor before you commit.

Which to pick — decision framework

  • You're an individual or solo professional who wants one do-everything AI → ChatGPT. Plus at A$30/month is the broadest single subscription going, with no platform prerequisite to buy alongside it.
  • Your business already lives in Microsoft 365 → Microsoft Copilot. The AI inside Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams is the natural fit — and start with the free Copilot Chat you already have.
  • You do content, image or creative work → ChatGPT. The breadth and image generation win; Copilot's standalone writing is functional but generic.
  • You're in government, a regulated industry, or have hard data-sovereignty rules → Microsoft Copilot. IRAP PROTECTED and Australian data residency make it the only practical option here.
  • You're watching every dollar and don't need M365 → ChatGPT (Go at A$13/month, or the free tier if you can live with ads).
  • You're a mid-market team that genuinely uses Office all day → Microsoft Copilot, and move while the A$26.91 discount window runs (to 31 December 2026).

The verdict

Winner: ChatGPT, for most individuals and small businesses. Both score 21/25, and ChatGPT is the broader tool. Be clear about the money, though, because it is closer than it looks: A$30/month for a single Plus subscription is more than Copilot's A$26.91 promotional seat, and about the same as the A$31.40 standard rate. ChatGPT wins on cost because a Copilot seat is stacked on top of an M365 licence and a Plus subscription is stacked on top of nothing. For writing, research, image work and general assistance, it's the safest default, and it improves faster than anything else in the category. Turn model training off in Settings and it covers most professional work comfortably.

But Microsoft Copilot is the smarter buy for a specific, important group of Australians: businesses already running on Microsoft 365, and any organisation with data-sovereignty obligations. It's the only assistant here with IRAP PROTECTED residency and Australian data centres, it states GST on the price it quotes, and its 5/5 Australian Fit earns it five stars where ChatGPT's 3/5 caps it at four. On a per-seat basis it also undercuts ChatGPT Plus while the promotion runs. For those readers, Copilot isn't just a preference — it's often the only compliant option on the table. Just budget on the standard A$31.40 rate that applies after the discount window closes on 31 December 2026, not the promo, and start with the free Chat tier before you pay.

The honest truth: both are excellent, and the "better" tool depends entirely on where you work and how strict your data rules are. Pick on platform and compliance, not on a feeling that one brand is smarter than the other — because at 21/25 each, neither is.

Update history
  • 21 Sep 2026 🇦🇺 — OpenAI bills Australians in Australian dollars, and correcting that changes this page's cost argument, not just its numbers. Plus is A$30/month, was ~A$28.00/mo (USD$20) and, in two other places, A$31 left over from the retired 1.55 basis; Go is A$13/month, was ~A$11.20/mo (USD$8); Pro is from A$155/month, was "USD$100 and USD$200/month". OpenAI displays these natively to Australian visitors and does not state whether they include GST — confirm at checkout. The verdict on cost does not survive at the real price and has been rewritten. This page said ChatGPT was "far cheaper" and "dramatically cheaper", and claimed A$31/month beat Copilot's A$26.91 — which it never did on sticker. At A$30 against A$26.91 inc GST, ChatGPT Plus is dearer than a promotional Copilot seat and about level with the A$31.40 standard rate. What is still true, and is now what the page argues, is that Copilot needs a Microsoft 365 licence underneath it and ChatGPT needs nothing. The winner is unchanged — ChatGPT for individuals and small businesses not already on Microsoft 365 — but it is won on total cost and lock-in, not on the sticker. Copilot's figures are untouched. No score change. Source: Ghost-Ready/review-chatgpt-2026-05-16.md (consumer prices re-verified 20 Sep 2026 on an Australian render) · chatgpt.com/pricing · Microsoft 365 Copilot AU pricing
  • 18 Jun 2026 — First published.

Frequently asked questions

Are ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot available in Australia?

Yes, both are fully available. Copilot goes further on local fit, hosting data in Sydney and Melbourne with IRAP PROTECTED certification — the only assistant in this category that clears that bar.

Do they charge in AUD?

Both do. Copilot prices natively in AUD with GST included. ChatGPT also shows Australian visitors native AUD prices — Plus is A$30/month, Go is A$13/month — but OpenAI doesn't state on its pricing page whether GST is included, so confirm at checkout.

Is there a free tier?

Both have one. ChatGPT's free tier is genuinely useful but now carries ads in Australia (since 26 March 2026). Eligible Microsoft 365 customers get Copilot Chat free, already inside their subscription.

Which is cheaper in AUD?

It depends on whether you already pay Microsoft. On the sticker, Copilot is cheaper: A$26.91/seat inc GST on its promotional rate against ChatGPT Plus at A$30/month. But a Copilot seat only works on top of an M365 Business or Enterprise licence, so for one person not already in Microsoft 365, ChatGPT is clearly cheaper all in. For a team already paying for Office, Copilot's marginal cost is the lower of the two — and its free Chat tier may already be in your subscription.

Which should an Australian business pick?

ChatGPT for most individuals, solos and small businesses — broader, no lock-in, and nothing to buy underneath it. Pick Microsoft Copilot if you already run on Microsoft 365, or have data-sovereignty rules demanding IRAP PROTECTED residency, where it's often the only compliant option.

Sources

This comparison draws on The AI Directory Australia's underlying reviews of ChatGPT (21/25, AU Fit 3/5) and Microsoft Copilot (21/25, AU Fit 5/5), each scored against our five-criteria framework and verified against the vendors' own pages — ChatGPT on 16 May 2026, Microsoft Copilot on 15 May 2026. ChatGPT's Australian dollar figures are OpenAI's own, re-verified against chatgpt.com/pricing on an Australian render on 20 September 2026 — Go A$13, Plus A$30, Pro from A$155 — and are not our conversions; OpenAI does not state whether they include GST. Microsoft Copilot's A$26.91/user/month is a promotional rate Microsoft re-ran for a 1 July – 31 December 2026 window, after which the standard A$31.40 (annual) or A$37.68 (monthly) applies; confirm the current figure at microsoft.com/en-au/microsoft-365-copilot/pricing before purchase. Scoring methodology and the Australian Fit gate: Methodology.


The AI Directory Australia is an independent editorial publication. Read our Methodology and Affiliate Disclosure.

Synthesised from The AI Directory's verified ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot reviews (facts checked against each vendor's own pages, 15–16 May 2026). Confirm live pricing before purchase — both vendors quote Australian dollars, and Microsoft Copilot's promotional rate runs in a discount window ending 31 December 2026.

Price Watch · Free

Know before your AI bill changes

A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.

Check your inbox to confirm — that's it.

Free. We never sell your address. Privacy.