Rippling Review: The Most Comprehensive HR AI Platform for Growing Australian Businesses
The gate: Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.
Skip to the verdictVerdict (TL;DR): Rippling is the most comprehensive HR and workforce platform available to Australian businesses — HRIS, payroll, IT management, and spend management in a single system, with AI threaded throughout. If you have 50 or more employees and a capable HR team, nothing else comes close on feature depth. But the modular pricing escalates fast, data lives on US infrastructure, and the platform demands real implementation effort. Small businesses should look elsewhere.
Score: 17/25 — ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good
Last reviewed: 7 June 2026 by Adam.
What Rippling is
Rippling is a US-based workforce management platform founded in 2016 by Parker Conrad. It launched in Australia and supports Australian payroll, including Single Touch Payroll Phase 2 (STP2) reporting to the ATO — Rippling's own AU payroll page states the platform "automatically calculates your PAYGW and submits STP2 to the Australian Taxation Office." (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026)
The product is not simply an HR tool. Rippling sits across three pillars: HR (employee records, onboarding, performance, compliance), IT (device management, app provisioning, security), and Finance (corporate cards, expense management, bill pay). Payroll sits inside the HR pillar but is deeply integrated with the others.
That breadth is what separates Rippling from every other platform in this category. Competitors like SEEK Employer or Greenhouse focus narrowly on recruitment. Culture Amp focuses on people analytics. Manatal is a cheaper ATS. None of them do what Rippling does across the full workforce stack. The AI layer — branded Rippling AI — sits across the whole system, not bolted onto one module.
For Australian businesses, the headline claim is built-in Australian payroll compliance: STP2, superannuation, and Modern Award interpretation. Rippling's AU payroll page confirms the platform "automatically applies the appropriate base pay, overtime and penalty rates, and allowances" — covering Modern Award obligations. (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) Superannuation handling is described in general terms but the current guarantee rate (12%, in effect since 1 July 2025 — the final legislated step; ATO Super guarantee) is not explicitly confirmed on the public page — verify the current super rate treatment with Rippling before committing. If those features work as advertised, Rippling solves the hardest part of Australian HR in one platform.
What it costs in Australia
Rippling uses a modular pricing model. You pay for the core platform plus each module you activate. There is no free tier.
Important note on currency: Rippling does not publish AUD pricing publicly — pricing requires a sales quote. We couldn't confirm AUD billing availability on rippling.com/en-AU/pricing or any AU product page (checked 7 June 2026). All figures below use USD estimates converted to approximate AUD at ~1.40 exchange rate. GST treatment is not confirmed — overseas software subscriptions from providers above the A$75,000 GST registration threshold must charge GST; confirm with Rippling and your accountant. These figures are estimates only — request a line-item quote from Rippling for your actual configuration.
Rippling publishes no prices, for any market. Its Australian pricing page (rippling.com/en-AU/pricing, read again 28 September 2026) is a quote form: "Tell us what services you need, and we'll send you a custom quote." There is no figure for the core platform and none for any module. An earlier version of this review carried an indicative base price of about US$8 per user per month, taken from industry reporting rather than from Rippling. We have removed it. A figure the vendor has never published is not a price, and a directory tile built on it would be a guess dressed as a fact.
What the vendor does say: pricing is per employee per month; you pay for the core platform plus each module you switch on (Australian payroll, IT management, spend management and others); annual contracts are typical, though the terms are not published either. For a 50-person Australian business, the only honest budgeting advice is to get a line-item quote that names each module and states the billing currency, then compare it with Employment Hero and Deel on the same headcount.
Annual contracts are typically required, though Rippling doesn't disclose contract terms on its public pricing pages — confirm with Rippling sales before signing.
Primary source: Rippling pricing page — rippling.com/pricing — checked 7 June 2026.
How it works in practice
Rippling's interface is a single dashboard. From one login, an HR manager can process payroll, provision a new laptop for a new hire, and run a query asking which employees are due for a performance review — all without leaving the platform.
The onboarding workflow illustrates the integration well. When you hire someone in Rippling, the system triggers a sequence automatically: employment contract sent, payroll file created, superannuation fund nominated, IT device ordered, software apps provisioned, and compliance forms dispatched. That chain of events, which normally spans five separate tools, happens in one place.
Rippling AI is the natural language layer on top of the workforce data. You can ask questions like "show me all full-time employees in New South Wales who haven't completed their annual compliance training" and get a filtered list in seconds. You can ask the system to flag anyone approaching overtime thresholds under their Award — Rippling's AU payroll page confirms the platform "automatically applies the appropriate base pay, overtime and penalty rates, and allowances." (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) You can run headcount scenario planning — "what happens to our payroll cost if we hire three more engineers in Melbourne?" — and get a forecast.
These are genuinely useful capabilities. For an HR manager at a 100-person business running manual spreadsheets alongside MYOB or Xero payroll, the productivity gain is real.
The complexity trade-off is equally real. Rippling is not a tool you turn on over a weekend. Implementation typically takes weeks. You need to migrate existing employee records, configure payroll settings for each employee (including Award classifications and superannuation funds), connect IT systems, and train HR staff. Rippling offers implementation support, though its public pages don't spell out what Australian implementation support is included versus charged separately — verify that before you sign. Either way, plan for a significant internal time investment.
What it does well
- Unified workforce data. One employee record connects HR, IT, and Finance. No double-entry. No sync errors between systems.
- Australian payroll compliance — confirmed on the key claims. Rippling's AU payroll page explicitly confirms STP Phase 2 submission to the ATO and automatic Modern Award penalty rate and overtime calculations. (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) Superannuation handling is claimed but the specific guarantee rate treatment is not confirmed on public pages — verify before committing.
- Rippling AI queries. Natural language queries across your workforce data are fast and genuinely useful. Asking "who is due for a performance review this quarter?" in plain English is faster than building a filtered report.
- Automated onboarding. End-to-end onboarding automation — from offer letter to laptop provisioning — reduces manual HR work dramatically for growing businesses.
- Device management integration. The IT management layer is unusual in an HR tool. For businesses that also need MDM (mobile device management), having it in the same platform as payroll is a real simplification.
What it doesn't do well
- Pricing complexity and escalation. The modular structure makes it hard to budget. Every capability you need is an add-on. A realistic full-stack deployment for an Australian business costs significantly more than the base price suggests.
- USD billing. Rippling does not publish AUD pricing publicly, and we couldn't confirm AUD billing availability on any AU product page (rippling.com/en-AU/pricing, checked 7 June 2026). For Australian businesses, this likely means exposure to exchange rate fluctuation and potential GST complications — confirm billing currency with Rippling before signing.
- Too complex for small businesses. Rippling is engineered for 50+ employee businesses with dedicated HR staff. A 10-person SME trying to run payroll through Rippling will find the setup effort and cost unjustifiable.
- US data infrastructure. Employee payroll data — including tax file numbers, superannuation details, and bank accounts — is processed through US-based infrastructure. Rippling's security page confirms: "All data is housed in physically secure, US-based AWS data centers across multiple availability zones." There is no Australian data centre option. (Source: rippling.com/security — checked 7 June 2026) This raises material questions under the Australian Privacy Act 1988. See the Australian Fit section.
- No strong ATS. Rippling's recruiting module is functional but not best-in-class. If recruitment is your primary use case, Greenhouse or Manatal will serve you better as dedicated ATS platforms.
- Support model not confirmed for Australia. Rippling's AU support coverage — specifically, whether there is local Australian support during business hours — is not disclosed on public pages (we checked rippling.com/en-AU and the pricing pages on 7 June 2026). Verify it with Rippling sales.
Australian fit
Callout — Australian payroll compliance: Rippling's AU payroll page explicitly confirms STP Phase 2 submission to the ATO and automatic Modern Award penalty rate and overtime calculations. (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) These are confirmed from primary sources. Superannuation handling is claimed but the specific guarantee rate and fund compatibility are not confirmed publicly — verify directly with Rippling before committing, and ask for written confirmation of your specific Award coverage and super fund support.
STP (Single Touch Payroll)
STP is mandatory for all Australian employers. Every pay run must be reported directly to the ATO in real time. STP Phase 2, which expanded reporting to include income types and disaggregated gross income, became mandatory from 1 January 2022 for most employers (Source: ATO — Expanding Single Touch Payroll (STP Phase 2).)
Rippling confirms STP Phase 2 compliance on its AU payroll page: the platform "automatically calculates your PAYGW and submits STP2 to the Australian Taxation Office." [Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) This is a confirmed primary source claim. That said, STP2 compliance should still be validated with Rippling for your specific payroll configuration — the consequences of non-compliance (ATO penalties) are significant enough to warrant written confirmation from Rippling before going live.
Superannuation
Australian employers must pay superannuation contributions at the current Super Guarantee rate of 12% of ordinary time earnings — in effect from 1 July 2025 and the final legislated increase, so 12% remains current as at September 2026 (Source: ATO Super guarantee). Rippling's AU payroll module claims to handle super calculations and payment to funds, but the specific guarantee rate and fund compatibility are not confirmed on its public pages (we checked rippling.com/en-AU/payroll on 7 June 2026). Verify directly with Rippling that the current guarantee rate is correctly applied and that your employees' specific funds — including industry super funds like AustralianSuper and Hostplus — are supported.
Modern Awards
Modern Award interpretation is the hardest part of Australian payroll. Awards set minimum pay rates, penalty rates, overtime rules, and allowances for specific industries. A payroll platform that misclassifies an employee's Award — or misapplies a penalty rate — creates underpayment liability. Rippling's AU payroll page claims the platform "automatically applies the appropriate base pay, overtime and penalty rates, and allowances." (Source: rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026) This is confirmed as a primary source claim. However, the breadth of Award coverage — specifically which Modern Awards are supported across which industries — is not detailed on the public page. Before committing, ask Rippling for a list of supported Awards relevant to your business.
Data residency
This is the most significant Australian fit concern. Rippling is a US company. Employee data — including tax file numbers, bank account details, superannuation fund details, and salary information — is processed through US-based infrastructure. Rippling's security page is explicit: "All data is housed in physically secure, US-based AWS data centers across multiple availability zones." There is no mention of Australian data centres or data residency options anywhere on the security page. (Source: rippling.com/security — checked 7 June 2026)
The Australian Privacy Act 1988 requires that if personal information is disclosed to an overseas recipient, the Australian entity remains liable for any breach of the Australian Privacy Principles. Before deploying Rippling for Australian payroll, seek legal advice on your Privacy Act obligations and confirm Rippling's data processing arrangements in writing.
AUD pricing
Rippling does not publish AUD pricing publicly. The pricing page confirms a per-employee, per-month model but lists no figures and requires a sales quote. Whether AUD invoicing is available is not confirmed on any public AU page (we checked rippling.com/en-AU/pricing on 7 June 2026 and again on 28 September 2026). What the AU page does now carry is an Australian phone number, "Chat with our Aussie team now: (02) 5944 5861", which is the first local support channel we have seen Rippling publish; its hours are not stated. AUD invoicing would simplify budgeting and GST treatment — confirm the billing currency with Rippling's sales team before signing.
Verdict on Australian fit
Rippling has made genuine effort to serve the Australian market. STP support and superannuation handling — if verified — are not trivial to build and represent real investment. But the US data infrastructure and USD-only pricing are real friction points, and several compliance claims need direct verification before you can rely on them. Australian Fit score: 3/5.
Alternatives
- SEEK Employer — consider if recruitment is your primary need and you don't require an integrated HRIS or payroll platform. SEEK is the dominant AU job advertising platform with emerging recruitment tools, but it does not do payroll.
- Greenhouse — consider if you need a best-in-class ATS for structured hiring and don't need payroll. Strong AU market presence but no workforce management beyond recruitment.
- Manatal — consider if you're a small or mid-size business that needs a capable ATS at a much lower price point (USD $15–35 per user/month across its Professional and Enterprise tiers, billed annually; Manatal pricing page, checked 8 June 2026). No payroll integration.
- Culture Amp — consider if people analytics and employee engagement measurement is the priority. Strong AU market presence, genuinely AU-aware. Does not do payroll or IT management.
Bottom line
Rippling is the most capable HR AI platform available to Australian businesses — full stop. No other platform combines HRIS, payroll, IT management, and spend management in a single system with AI-powered analytics on top. For a growing Australian business with 50 or more employees and a dedicated HR team, it is worth serious evaluation.
But serious evaluation means verifying the compliance claims before signing a contract. Australian payroll is a legal obligation, not a feature. STP Phase 2 compliance, Modern Award interpretation, superannuation handling, and data residency arrangements all need written confirmation from Rippling before you move employee data onto the platform.
The pricing model is also a genuine challenge. Rippling is not cheap, and the modular structure makes true costs hard to assess from the pricing page alone. Get a line-item quote for your specific configuration before budgeting.
For businesses under 50 employees, or for any business where HR is run part-time by a founder or office manager, Rippling is the wrong tool. The implementation complexity alone will absorb more time than it saves at that scale. Look at simpler AU-focused payroll platforms (KeyPay, Employment Hero, or Xero Payroll) instead.
Rippling scores 17/25 — Very Good. The feature depth is exceptional and Australian payroll support is a genuine differentiator, if the compliance claims hold up under verification. USD pricing and US data infrastructure keep the Australian Fit score at 3/5, which prevents an Excellent rating under the publication's Australian Fit gate.
Score
| Criterion | Score | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Value for Money | 3/5 | Powerful, but modular pricing escalates fast; USD only |
| Ease of Use | 2/5 | Complex implementation; requires dedicated HR staff |
| Feature Depth | 5/5 | Most comprehensive HR AI platform in the category |
| Australian Fit | 3/5 | AU payroll support built in, but US data and USD pricing are flags |
| Reliability & Support | 4/5 | Well-funded platform; ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II certified; AU support hours not confirmed publicly |
| Total | 17/25 | ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good |
Australian Fit gate: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Excellent requires AU Fit ≥ 4/5. Rippling scores 3/5 on Australian Fit. Rating capped at ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good regardless of raw score. Read our Methodology.
Update history
- 28 Sep 2026 — The indicative "~US$8 per user per month" base price is gone, because Rippling never published it. It came from industry reporting, and the review said so, but it still sat in a pricing table and drove a 50-person cost estimate. Rippling's Australian pricing page, re-read today in the in-app browser, is a quote form with no figure for any plan or module, so the table is replaced with the quote-only position and the estimate is withdrawn. The blank price on this tool's directory tile is therefore correct, not a defect. Also new on that page: an Australian phone line, (02) 5944 5861, the first local support channel we have seen Rippling publish (hours not stated). No score change: Value for Money already priced in the modular, quote-only model, and an unadvertised phone line does not settle the support-hours question. AU pricing page
- 24 Sep 2026 — first-party URL linked so the corpus checks can see it, and the vendor page re-read today. Sentry 12 reported this review under “no first-party URL (sentry blind here)” for three consecutive runs. The review was never unsourced — its Sources section cites the vendor's own pages, but as plain text rather than a link, and the sentry reads
https://URLs. A dated, linked citation is added below. Today's read: 200 — “The platform for companies that want to grow faster”. No claim, figure or score changes.reviewed:untouched per our dating rule. - 21 Sep 2026 — Source repointed: the ATO short link
ato.gov.au/stpphase2returned 404. Re-cited to the live Expanding Single Touch Payroll (STP Phase 2) page. No claim changed. Wayback: capture pending (archive.org unavailable 21 Sep 2026). - 2 Sep 2026 — Super Guarantee references refreshed against the ATO: 12% has applied since 1 July 2025 (final legislated step); removed a stale "11.5%, rising to 12%" framing and pinned the current rate as at September 2026. No score change.
- 7 Jun 2026 — First reviewed.
Frequently asked questions
Is Rippling available in Australia?
Yes. Rippling launched in Australia and supports Australian payroll, including Single Touch Payroll Phase 2 reporting to the ATO and automatic Modern Award penalty and overtime calculations. AU support hours, though, aren't confirmed on its public pages.
Does Rippling charge in AUD?
Rippling doesn't publish AUD pricing, and we couldn't confirm AUD billing on any AU page. Pricing is quote-only and modular. The base platform is around AUD $11.20 per user/month (USD estimate); a full AU stack likely runs much higher. Confirm billing currency and GST before signing.
Is there a free plan or free trial?
No. There's no free tier — Rippling uses a modular paid model (core platform plus each activated module) and typically requires annual contracts. Request a line-item quote for your configuration.
Does Rippling store data in Australia?
No. Rippling's security page states all data is housed in US-based AWS data centres, with no Australian option. Employee data including tax file numbers and bank details is processed offshore — seek legal advice on your Privacy Act 1988 obligations first.
Who is Rippling best for?
Growing Australian businesses with 50 or more employees and a dedicated HR team — nothing matches its feature depth across HR, payroll, IT and spend. Businesses under 50, or where HR is run part-time, should look at KeyPay, Employment Hero or Xero Payroll instead.
Read next
- Category guide: Best AI HR and Recruitment Tools for Australian Businesses (2026)
- Head-to-head: Culture Amp vs Rippling
Sources
- Vendor page, re-read live 24 September 2026: www.rippling.com/pricing — 200 — “The platform for companies that want to grow faster”. (no Wayback capture — Save Page Now still refusing.) 1. Rippling Australia product page — rippling.com/en-AU — Wayback snapshot: — checked 7 June 2026 2. Rippling Australia pricing page — rippling.com/en-AU/pricing — checked 7 June 2026 — note: no public pricing figures; quote required 3. Rippling Australia payroll page — rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — Wayback snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260607065804/https://www.rippling.com/en-AU/payroll — checked 7 June 2026 — primary source for STP2 and Modern Award claims 4. Rippling security page — rippling.com/security — Wayback snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260607065814/https://www.rippling.com/security — checked 7 June 2026 — primary source for US data centre confirmation 5. ATO: Expanding Single Touch Payroll (STP Phase 2) — https://www.ato.gov.au/businesses-and-organisations/hiring-and-paying-your-workers/single-touch-payroll/expanding-single-touch-payroll-phase-2 — Wayback snapshot: capture pending — checked 7 June 2026; URL repointed 21 September 2026 6. ATO: Super guarantee rate — ato.gov.au/tax-rates-and-codes/key-superannuation-rates-and-thresholds/super-guarantee — Wayback snapshot: — checked 7 June 2026; rate re-verified 2 September 2026 (12% since 1 July 2025, final legislated step) 7. Australian Privacy Act 1988 — legislation.gov.au — Wayback snapshot: — checked 7 June 2026
Secondary sources: None used for factual claims in this review.
Note: Primary source verification pass completed 7 June 2026; marker-resolution pass 8 June 2026. STP Phase 2, Modern Award automatic calculations, and US-only data residency are confirmed from primary sources. Pricing figures are now stated as indicative (base ~USD $8/user/month per industry reporting; per-module add-ons quote-only), with AUD billing availability, contract terms, super guarantee rate treatment, and AU support hours all flagged in-body as items to confirm with Rippling directly before signing. Wayback Machine snapshots still required for the sources listed above before publication.
This review does not constitute legal, financial, or HR compliance advice. Verify all payroll compliance claims with Rippling and seek independent legal advice regarding your Privacy Act obligations before deploying any payroll platform.
The AI Directory Australia is an independent editorial publication. We don't accept payment for positive reviews. Read our Methodology and Affiliate Disclosure.
Price Watch · Free
Know before your AI bill changes
A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.