Momentic Review Australia 2026: AI End-to-End Testing, USD-Only
- From
- Free · paid tiers on request
The gate: Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.
Skip to the verdictPricing figures updated 6 September 2026: USD prices are converted at the current rate (1 USD ≈ 1.40 AUD, verified 5 September 2026) and shown ex-GST, replacing the retired 1.55 + GST basis. A GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service; other buyers should allow ~10% on top (Methodology).
Verdict (TL;DR)
Momentic uses AI to write, run, and repair end-to-end tests for web and mobile apps. The authoring is fast and the self-healing is genuinely useful. But it bills in US dollars, holds no Australian data residency, and runs cloud-only. Australian QA teams get a capable tool with a foreign-currency bill. Strong for the work; weak on local fit.
Score: 17/25 — ★★★★ Very Good
Last reviewed: 28 June 2026 by Adam.
What Momentic actually is
Momentic is an AI-powered end-to-end testing platform. You describe a test in plain English. Its AI agents write the test, run it, and repair it when your app changes. The pitch is less test maintenance and faster authoring.
It tests web apps in Chromium browsers, iOS apps in simulators, and Android apps in emulators. The vendor's homepage does not list API testing as a feature. If your suite needs API-level coverage, Momentic is not the whole answer.
The company is "Built in San Francisco," per its own website footer. That matters for the Australian fit discussion below.
Who it suits
Momentic is built for engineering and QA teams who maintain flaky, brittle end-to-end suites. The core promise is self-healing tests — the AI updates selectors and steps when your UI shifts, instead of breaking your CI pipeline.
That is a real pain point. Manually patching end-to-end tests is tedious work. If your team loses hours each sprint to broken Cypress or Playwright runs, Momentic's repair loop is the feature you are paying for.
It is not a tool for non-technical staff. This is developer infrastructure. A Melbourne marketing manager will never touch it. A Melbourne startup's engineering lead might.
Pricing — and the currency problem
Momentic publishes three tiers on its pricing page. All figures are in US dollars.
| Plan | Price (USD) | Approx AUD* | Included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | US$0 / forever | A$0 | 2,000 credits/month (~200 test runs), core features, AI authoring, 30-day retention |
| Pay-as-you-go | US$125 / month | ~A$175 + GST | 10,000 credits/month (~1,000 test runs), then US$0.01875/credit overage |
| Enterprise | Custom | Quote | SAML SSO, SCIM, audit logs, SLA, dedicated account manager |
*Converted at US$1 ≈ A$1.40 (September 2026). Approximate only — your card issuer sets the actual rate.
The free tier is the standout. Two thousand credits a month and roughly 200 test runs, with no credit card, is enough to genuinely trial the product or run a small suite for free. Most testing tools gate far harder than this.
The paid jump is where Australian buyers should pause. Pay-as-you-go starts at US$125 a month — about A$175 before your bank's foreign-transaction fee and before GST. Pricing is usage-based on credits, not per seat, where one credit equals one test step. Unused credits do not roll over month to month, per the pricing page.
That credit model is honest but unforgiving. A large suite run nightly burns credits fast. Overage runs at US$0.01875 per credit. Model your monthly run volume before committing, because the headline US$125 is a floor, not a ceiling.
GST treatment is the open question. The pricing page does not state whether Australian GST is added at checkout. As an overseas digital supplier, Momentic may be required to charge 10% GST to Australian customers — but the vendor does not confirm this on its pricing page, so treat the AUD figures above as ex-GST estimates and check your own invoice.
Australian fit — the weak point
This is where Momentic loses ground, and it is the criterion this publication weighs most heavily.
Currency. Pricing is USD-only. No AUD option appears on the pricing page. Every invoice carries exchange-rate exposure and likely a foreign-transaction fee.
Data residency. Momentic's homepage advertises SOC 2 Type 2 and a Trust Center, but states no Australian data residency and no specific hosting region for test execution. The only regional control it documents is for mobile testing: you "pick a continent (us, eu, as)" and tests run on the nearest emulator region. There is no Australia or Oceania region named, and that control covers mobile emulators only — not where your test data, staging credentials, or results are stored.
Cloud-only. Momentic runs as a hosted service. The homepage and docs describe no self-hosting option. Your application URLs, test data, and execution results pass through Momentic's infrastructure. For an Australian business with data-sovereignty obligations — government, health, financial services — that is a serious gate, not a footnote.
Support hours. Support is San Francisco-based. There is no documented Australian support presence or AEST coverage. Enterprise buyers get priority support with an SLA, but the time-zone gap is real for a Sydney team.
None of this makes Momentic unusable in Australia. Plenty of local teams run USD SaaS happily. But "Australia is the default" is our test, and Momentic treats Australia as an afterthought.
Reliability and support
Momentic states it holds SOC 2 Type 2 certification, independently audited, with compliance reports in its Trust Center. It also advertises a 99.99% uptime SLA, described as "backed contractually." Both are vendor claims on the company's own homepage, not independently verified by us, but they are specific and contractual rather than vague marketing.
The security feature set is solid for the category: SAML SSO, fine-grained role-based access, audit logs, and SCIM provisioning on Enterprise. That is the right toolkit for a team that has to satisfy its own compliance reviewers — assuming the cloud-only residency gate above is not a blocker for you.
How it scores
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Value for Money | 3/5 | Generous free tier. Paid starts at US$125/mo; credits don't roll over and scale can get expensive. |
| Ease of Use | 4/5 | Plain-English authoring and self-healing tests cut maintenance. Still developer infrastructure, not no-code. |
| Feature Depth | 4/5 | Web, iOS, Android, SSO, SCIM, audit logs, SMS/OTP testing. No API testing on the feature list. |
| Australian Fit | 2/5 | USD-only, no AUD, GST unconfirmed, no AU data residency, cloud-only, no AU region or support. |
| Reliability & Support | 4/5 | SOC 2 Type 2 and a 99.99% uptime SLA (both vendor-stated); priority support and SLA on Enterprise. |
| Total | 17/25 | ★★★★ Very Good |
Australian Fit gate: Momentic scores 2/5 on Australian Fit, below the 4/5 threshold required for a five-star rating or a category Top Pick. Its raw total is 17/25, which already sits in the four-star band, so no cap applies — but the gate means it cannot be named our Testing & QA category winner on local fit alone. See our Methodology page.
The verdict
Momentic does the hard part well. AI authoring is fast. Self-healing tests address the single most annoying problem in end-to-end testing. The free tier lets you prove value before spending a cent. For a technical Australian team drowning in flaky tests, it is worth a trial.
But buy it with eyes open. You will pay in US dollars. You cannot keep your test data on Australian soil. There is no self-hosting and no AU support window. If your organisation has data-sovereignty obligations, the cloud-only model is likely a hard stop — verify residency with the vendor before you commit.
Recommended for technical teams who can live with USD billing and offshore data handling. Not recommended where Australian data residency is a requirement. A capable tool that has simply not been built with Australia in mind.
Update history
- 21 Sep 2026 — No first-party Momentic app on the Australian App Store. Nothing published under momentic.ai; the search returns a coffee shop and an events app. USD pricing stands unqualified. Searched Apple's own Australian storefront endpoint (
itunes.apple.com/search?country=au&entity=software) and matched each result on its declaredsellerUrlrather than its publisher name — the method that resolved Msty (CloudStack, LLC → msty.ai) and Bluedot (Twiso Inc. → bluedothq.com) the same day, both of which the 21 September pass had recorded as untraceable. Checked 21 September 2026 by the app-store apply pass,Audits/app-store-apply-2026-09-21.md. Re-check if the vendor announces a mobile app.
Sources
All primary sources captured via the Wayback Machine on 30 June 2026.
- Momentic pricing (plans, USD prices, credits, retention, free tier) — https://momentic.ai/pricing — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260630002121/https://momentic.ai/pricing
- Momentic homepage (SOC 2 Type 2, 99.99% uptime SLA, SSO/RBAC/audit logs, web/iOS/Android coverage, "Built in San Francisco," us/eu/as mobile emulator regions) — https://momentic.ai/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260630002138/https://momentic.ai/
Exchange rate used: US$1 ≈ A$1.40 (September 2026). GST treatment for Australian customers is not stated on the vendor's pricing page; AUD figures are ex-GST estimates.
Price Watch · Free
Know before your AI bill changes
A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.