Dext vs Booke AI (2026): Trusted Capture or Cheaper In-Ledger Automation?
Our pick: Dext. The verdict below says who should buy the other.
Two tools, one goal: stop a bookkeeper typing receipts by hand. They go about it very differently.
Dext feeds your ledger. It reads a receipt or invoice, extracts supplier, date, total and GST, then pushes a coded transaction into Xero, MYOB or QuickBooks. Booke AI works inside the ledger. You invite it into your Xero or QuickBooks Online file as a user, and it categorises the bank feed, matches documents and preps reconciliation overnight.
Dext is the incumbent. Australian practices already run it, and it earns local marks most overseas rivals miss. Booke is the newer, automation-first challenger, cheaper to reason about per file, but younger here and hosted offshore.
We reviewed both in June 2026. Dext scored 19/25 (Very Good). Booke AI scored 15/25 (Good). This piece explains the four-point gap and tells you which to buy.
TL;DR: Dext is the safer pick for the typical Australian buyer. It bills in real AUD from A$33.58/month ex GST, extracts and validates ABNs, reads GST as its own field, and has deep Xero and MYOB integration. Booke automates more of the daily grind and can be cheaper to reason about, but it hosts client data in the US, holds no certification of its own, and offers no local support. Choose Dext for capture and trust. Choose Booke only if in-ledger automation is the whole point and US data residency is acceptable.
The core difference
The distinction is not a detail. It changes what each tool is for.
Dext is a capture layer. It takes the paper and PDFs a business generates and turns them into clean, coded data in your accounting software. It does one job extremely well and leaves the ledger to Xero or MYOB. That is why so many Australian bookkeeping firms run it as their default document-capture tool.
Booke is an in-ledger automation agent. It is invited into your Xero or QBO organisation as a standard user and uses robotic process automation to code the bank feed, match receipts to bills, chase missing documents and prepare the reconciliation, the way a junior bookkeeper would. It targets a different pain: not "capture the receipt" but "code the whole feed."
So they are not strict substitutes. Dext excels at getting documents into the ledger. Booke excels at working the ledger once transactions are in. Some practices run both. Most buying one tool are really asking: is my bottleneck capture, or is it daily coding?
Pricing in Australia
Both tools price natively in AUD, which is rare and welcome. Here is the head-to-head.
| Dext | Booke AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price (business) | From A$33.58/mo ex GST (250 docs, 5 users) | A$179/business/mo billed annually; A$195/mo monthly |
| Annual option | A$403/year (save ~20% vs monthly) | ~A$192/year effective saving (~8%) vs monthly |
| Practice / firm pricing | Essentials from A$23.40/client/mo (10-client min); Advanced from A$27.40/client/mo | Pricing by request; white-label available |
| Billing model | Per business, or per client for practices | Per business file (not per seat) |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial | None advertised; 14-working-day refund window |
| GST | Excluded from headline prices; add 10% | Not stated on the page or terms; confirm on first invoice |
Sources: Dext AU business and partner pricing pages; Booke AI AU pricing page. Both checked 2 June 2026 with same-day snapshots in the Sources list. GST treatment and the primary-source citations carry through from our full reviews of each tool.
Read the models carefully, because the sticker prices mislead.
Dext's A$33.58/month is genuinely cheap, but it is one business plan capped at 250 documents and 5 users. Volume slides the price up, and the useful extras — AI Assist, Vault beyond 100MB, data health — are paid add-ons that stack. For a practice, the per-client rate from A$23.40 is the real number, and it scales with your book.
Booke's A$179/month sounds steep beside Dext's headline, but it is a different unit. It is priced per business file, and it does more per file. For a single busy business drowning in bank-feed coding, that maths can work inside an hour or two of charge-out time. For a 40-file practice, A$179 per file is a serious monthly commitment, so the firm plan and its custom pricing matter far more than the sticker.
One point in Booke's favour: A$179 converts to roughly US$115, and the US headline is US$129, so Australians are not penalised on the exchange. GST is the weaker spot — it is not stated anywhere on Booke's page or terms, whereas Dext at least tells you plainly to add 10%.
Value verdict: Different units, so compare on your bottleneck, not the number. For capture, Dext is the cheaper and more scalable buy. For whole-feed automation on a high-volume file, Booke can justify its price. Neither is overpriced for the hours it saves the right buyer.
Feature difference
| Capability | Dext | Booke AI |
|---|---|---|
| Core job | Capture and code documents into the ledger | Automate coding and reconciliation inside the ledger |
| How it connects | Feeds Xero/MYOB/QBO by integration | Invited into Xero/QBO as a user (RPA) |
| Capture channels | App, email, drag-drop, Chrome extension | OCR for bills, invoices, receipts inside the loop |
| Bank-feed coding | Rules and auto-publish on capture | Daily auto-categorisation of the whole feed |
| Document matching | Supplier rules, supplier-statement reconciliation | Smart matching + auto-chase of missing documents |
| ABN handling | Extracts and validates ABNs | Not advertised |
| Integrations | Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks + 36 others | Xero, QuickBooks Online, Zoho Books |
| Multi-client tooling | Per-client plans, approvals, data-health scoring | Multi-client dashboard, white-label firm plan |
The pattern is clear. Dext is broader on capture — more ways to get a document in, and MYOB support, which matters in Australia and which Booke lacks. Booke is deeper on automation — it chases clients for missing receipts and reconciles inside the ledger, which Dext does not do the same way.
Two Australian specifics decide a lot here. Dext extracts and validates the ABN on a document, and reads GST as a discrete field. Those are the difference between a clean BAS and a manual fix, and most overseas-built tools skip them. Booke does not advertise ABN extraction, and it does not support MYOB. For a practice with MYOB clients, that alone can end the comparison.
Neither tool is set-and-forget. Both are suggestion-and-review engines. Dext's "99.9% accuracy" is the vendor's own marketing figure, not an audited benchmark, and its OCR still misreads faded dockets and handwriting. Booke posts entries into the ledger, but a human stays accountable for every one. Treat both exception queues as mandatory.
Australian fit
This is where the four-point scoring gap opens, and where the typical AU buyer should focus.
Data residency. Dext hosts on AWS, is ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified, and encrypts with AES-256, but it advertises no Australian hosting region. Booke is worse on this axis: its data-handling page states "Primary regions: US-based data centers," with only "contact us for specific regional requirements" as an alternative. For an Australian practice holding client financial records, Booke's US hosting engages your cross-border disclosure obligations under Privacy Act APP 8. Neither offers an AU region, but Dext at least holds ISO 27001; Booke holds no IRAP and no SOC 2 of its own, relying on its hosts' certification and Intuit/Xero partner audits.
Support. Both are email and in-app only, with no published Australian phone hours. Dext edges it with a registered Sydney office; Booke lists a US phone number and Calendly demos, with no AU presence.
GST and ABN. Dext wins clearly. It tells you GST is excluded (add 10%), and it extracts and validates ABNs. Booke states no GST treatment on its page or terms, and does not advertise ABN handling. For BAS-facing work, that gap matters.
Local track record. Both carry real Xero App Store history — Dext at 4.8 across 1,000+ reviews, Booke at 4.55 across 129, listed since February 2022. Dext's is deeper, and its MYOB support widens its reach across Australian practices.
Both scored Australian Fit 4/5 (Dext) and 3/5 (Booke). That single point is decisive under our editorial gate: a category Top Pick requires Australian Fit of at least 4/5. Dext clears it. Booke does not.
Tax Practitioners Board guidance (final, 22 July 2026). If a registered tax or BAS agent runs either tool's AI features on your file, the TPB's Guidance Statement TPB(GS) 55/2026 applies to the agent, not the software: they stay accountable for the accuracy of every output, must exercise their own judgement rather than rely on the AI, and must not put your information into an AI model without your permission and a clear answer on where the data is stored. Nothing here changes those obligations — and none of it replaces advice from a registered practitioner. Our explainer of the guidance.
Who should buy which
Buy Dext if you are a small business already on Xero or MYOB drowning in receipts, or — most of all — a bookkeeping or tax practice running capture across many client files. Its per-client pricing, ABN and GST handling, MYOB support and data-health tooling are built for exactly that workflow. It is the cheapest hour-for-hour productivity buy in most Australian finance stacks. Just budget for GST, document caps and add-ons.
Buy Booke AI if your bottleneck is daily bank-feed coding rather than capture, you live in Xero or QBO (not MYOB), and US data residency is acceptable for your clients. Its in-ledger automation and auto-chasing of missing documents genuinely remove work that Dext does not touch. Trial it on your messiest, highest-volume files, keep the exception review disciplined, and confirm GST on your first invoice.
Do not buy Booke if you need Australian data residency, independent certification, or MYOB support. Those are hard requirements for many regulated AU practices, and Booke meets none of them today.
The verdict
For the typical Australian buyer — a small business or a bookkeeping practice on Xero or MYOB — Dext is the winner. It scored 19/25 to Booke's 15/25, and the gap is not arbitrary. Dext bills in real AUD, extracts and validates ABNs, reads GST as its own field, supports MYOB, and carries the deeper Australian track record and the ISO 27001 certification. It is the established, trusted capture layer for good reasons.
Booke AI is the more interesting challenger, and cheaper to reason about on a single high-volume file. Its in-ledger automation does real work Dext does not. But offshore data residency, no certification of its own, no local support, no MYOB and no GST clarity keep it a specialist pick rather than the default.
If your pain is capture and trust, buy Dext. If your pain is whole-feed automation and you can accept US hosting, trial Booke. For most Australians, that means Dext.
Neither tool replaces a qualified accountant or registered BAS/tax agent. Both extract or post data; you and your agent remain responsible for the accuracy of what is filed with the ATO.
Update history
- 30 Jun 2026 — First published.
- 21 Sep 2026 — ⚠️ Booke AI has been delisted from the Xero App Store, and Booke no longer markets Xero.
apps.xero.com/au/app/booke-aireturns HTTP 404 while Dext’s listing on the same store returns 200, so this is a delisting rather than a bot block or a URL change. Booke’s ownbooke.ai/xeropage is gone, and its live Australian page now sells an “AI Bookkeeper for QuickBooks Online” that connects to “QuickBooks or Zoho Books”, with no mention of Xero. Half of what this comparison weighs — Booke working inside a Xero file, and its four-year Xero listing — may no longer be true. On the Xero side of the question, that leaves Dext standing alone. Nothing has been re-scored or rewritten here; the Xero App Store citation now reads through its 2 June 2026 Wayback capture, which is a record of June, not of today. Queued for a re-verification of Booke’s current integrations. Dext’s side has not been re-checked in this pass.
Read next
- Full review: Dext — 19/25, Very Good
- Full review: Booke AI — 15/25, Good
- Category guide: Best AI Accounting & Tax Tools for Australian Businesses (2026)
Sources
- Dext — Australian business pricing (from A$33.58/mo ex GST, A$403/year, 250 docs / 5 users; add-ons) — dext.com/au/business/pricing — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Dext — Australian practice (partner) pricing (Essentials from A$23.40/client/mo; Advanced from A$27.40/client/mo; 10-client min) — dext.com/au/partner/pricing — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Dext — Information security (AWS hosting, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, AES-256, no advertised AU region) — dext.com/au/information-security — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Dext on the Xero App Store (AU) — 4.8 rating, 1,000+ reviews — apps.xero.com/au/app/dext-prepare — Wayback: snapshot — checked 2 June 2026
- Booke AI — AU pricing page (A$179/business/mo annual, A$195 monthly; per-business billing; no GST line; firm pricing by request) — booke.ai/en-au/pricing — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Booke AI — US pricing page (US$129 cross-check) — booke.ai/en-us/pricing — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Booke AI — Data Handling page (US-based data centres; per-client AI Brain; no advertised AU region) — booke.ai/en-au/data-handling — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Booke AI — Security page (AES-256/TLS 1.3; partner-audit model; no Booke-held SOC 2) — booke.ai/en-us/security — Wayback: snapshot 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
- Xero App Store — Booke AI listing (4.55/5, 129 reviews; listed since Feb 2022; RPA-as-user; AU supported; Xero/QBO/Zoho) —
apps.xero.com/au/app/booke-ai, delisted: HTTP 404 on 21 September 2026 (see Update history) — read via Wayback capture, 2 June 2026 — checked 2 June 2026
Scores and verdicts are carried over from our full September 2026 reviews of each tool and are not re-scored here. Dext's "99.9% accuracy" is the vendor's own marketing claim, not an independently audited benchmark. Booke's "10,000+ businesses" figure is a vendor marketing claim we could not independently verify. FX reference on file: US$1 ≈ A$1.40 as of September 2026; both tools quote AUD natively, so no conversion is applied to headline prices.
The AI Directory Australia is an independent editorial publication. We don't accept payment for positive reviews. Read our Methodology and Affiliate Disclosure pages.
This comparison covers software for capturing and coding bookkeeping data. It is general information, not accounting, tax or financial advice, and it does not replace a qualified accountant or registered BAS/tax agent. You remain responsible for the accuracy of data published to your accounting software and lodged with the ATO.
Written by Adam for The AI Directory Australia. First published 30 June 2026.
Price Watch · Free
Know before your AI bill changes
A short email when AI tools change what they charge Australians: the new price in AUD, what it means for you, and whether to switch. No hype, no spam, unsubscribe any time.