> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Tactiq Review: Live Transcription for Google Meet, Zoom, and Teams
- URL: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/review-tactiq-australia-2026/
- Published: 2026-10-08T23:00:00.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-09T06:36:42.000Z
- Description: Tactiq was founded in Sydney and transcribes your Google Meet, Zoom, and Teams calls in real time. Affordable, AU-founded, and surprisingly capable. Here's the full Australian review.
- Author: Adam
- Tags: AI Meeting Notetakers, AI Reviews, #review

**18**/25

★★★★☆

Very Good

Tactiq · founded Sydney, Australia (2020) by Nick Nikolaiev and Ksenia Svechnikova

Verified 9 Oct 2026 

Value for Money**4**/5

Ease of Use**4**/5

Feature Depth**4**/5

Australian Fit**4**/5

Reliability & Support**2**/5

From

**A$11.42**/mo per user · inc. GST · billed in AUD

Your data

Founded in Sydney; data centre location publicly (unconfirmed). Contact vendor. Do not assume Australian hosting.

History

Edition 2\. Was [17/25, Jun 2026](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/review-tactiq-australia-2026-06/)

**The gate:** Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.

[Skip to the verdict ](#verdict) 

> **Verdict (TL;DR):** Tactiq is the most Australian-friendly tool in this category — founded in Sydney in 2020, built on the Google Chrome Web Store, and used by two million meetings per month including Fortune 500 and ASX50 companies. It transcribes Google Meet, Zoom, and Teams calls in real time via a Chrome extension, with no bot joining your call as a participant. AI summaries, action items, and one-click workflows make it more than a transcript dump. The free plan is usable, Pro is genuinely affordable at \~AUD $11.20/month, and the Team plan at \~AUD $23/month unlocks unlimited AI credits and collaboration. For most Australian professionals and teams, Tactiq is the starting point for this category.  
>  
> **Score: 18/25 — ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good**  
>  
> *Last reviewed: 26 June 2026 by Adam.*  
>  
> **Earlier editions of this review:** [26 Jun 2026 — 17/25](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/review-tactiq-australia-2026-06/). This is edition 2, dated 9 Oct 2026\. We keep every edition so you can see how the tool and our verdict have moved — [how and why](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/review-timeline/).

---

## What Tactiq is

Tactiq (tactiq.io) is an AI meeting transcription and assistant tool founded in Sydney, Australia, in 2020 by Nick Nikolaiev and Ksenia Svechnikova. The company has been backed by Antler and processes approximately two million meetings per month.

Tactiq operates as a Chrome extension (available on the Chrome Web Store and Microsoft Edge Add-ons) that displays live captions during Google Meet, Zoom, and Microsoft Teams calls, then generates AI summaries, action items, and follow-ups after the call ends.

Crucially, Tactiq is not a bot-based notetaker. It does not join your call as a separate participant. The transcription happens locally via your browser as you participate in the meeting. Other attendees do not see a "Tactiq joined the meeting" notification, though a notification that transcription is occurring can be displayed in-meeting (configurable on paid plans).

Tactiq is SOC 2 Type II certified, ISO 27001 certified, GDPR compliant, and HIPAA compliant. It uses OpenAI's enterprise API for AI features — OpenAI does not use this data for model training. Tactiq explicitly states it does not use your data to train its models.

The company states its registered office is in Sydney. Infrastructure specifics are not detailed publicly on the website — (unconfirmed) exact data centre location and whether data is stored in Australia. Contact the vendor for data residency details.

---

## What it costs in Australia

Tactiq prices Australians in Australian dollars. Read in a browser on an Australian connection on 9 October 2026, `tactiq.io/buy` labels every paid plan "AUD" — the June edition of this review recorded USD figures and could not confirm the local-currency display. GST treatment is still not stated on the page, so confirm whether the A$ figure is GST-inclusive on your first invoice.

| Plan       | AUD per user/month, billed annually (vendor price) | Billed monthly | Notes                                                                                                                                |
| ---------- | -------------------------------------------------- | -------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| Free       | A$0                                                | A$0            | 10 transcripts/month; 5 AI credits/month; share + export; in-meeting AI                                                              |
| Pro        | A$11.42                                            | A$17           | Unlimited transcripts; 10 AI credits/month; pause transcription; disable transcript notification                                     |
| Team       | A$23.17                                            | A$29           | Unlimited transcripts; unlimited AI credits; auto-share with teams; priority support; 1–20 users                                     |
| Business   | A$44.25                                            | A$59           | Unlimited AI credits; SAML SSO; advanced data retention; customer success manager; MCP (beta), Claude connector (beta); 20–200 users |
| Enterprise | Custom                                             | Custom         | 200+ users; dedicated account manager; curated DPA; customisable notifications                                                       |

*Vendor AUD prices, read 9 October 2026 in a browser on an Australian connection; no conversion applied. The page does not say whether GST is included. Capture: `Dossiers/captures/tactiq-pricing-2026-10-09.txt`.*

Tactiq's pricing is notably competitive. The Pro plan at A$11.42 a month (billed annually) is among the most affordable in this category for an individual professional. The Team plan at A$23.17 a month per user unlocks unlimited AI credits and team features — the right tier for most small Australian business teams.

One AI credit covers a single AI action: generating a summary, drafting action items, or asking Tactiq AI a question. Free users get 5 per month; Pro users get 10; Team and above get unlimited. The credit model means free users need to choose their AI actions carefully.

---

## How it works in practice

Install the Tactiq Chrome extension from the Web Store. Sign in with Google or Microsoft. Tactiq activates automatically when you join a Google Meet, Zoom, or Teams call in Chrome.

Live captions appear in a sidebar during the meeting. You can interact with Tactiq's AI during the call to ask questions, pull up past context, or generate quick summaries on the fly. After the meeting, one-click AI generates the full summary, action items, follow-up email draft, or project update.

The AI Workflow Builder (available on all paid plans) lets you create reusable custom prompts — "Generate a client update in our standard format" or "Extract all decisions and send to Linear" — that run automatically or on demand after every meeting.

Integration options include Google Drive, Notion, Linear, HubSpot, Slack, and more. The MCP integration (beta on Business plan) connects Tactiq with Claude and other AI assistants.

---

## What it does well

**Live transcription in real time.** Tactiq transcribes the conversation as it happens, not just after the meeting ends. You can correct mistakes during the call and search the transcript mid-meeting to recall what was said five minutes ago.

**Genuinely affordable.** The Pro plan at A$11.42 a month is one of the best-value paid tiers in the category, and since 2026 it is quoted in Australian dollars. The free plan's 10 transcripts a month is actually usable for someone in occasional meetings.

**Bot-free capture.** No participant notification in the attendee list. The extension works within your browser, so other people in the meeting do not see a bot join. Participants can be notified via an in-meeting message (configurable), but the visible-bot-in-attendee-list experience is avoided.

**Australian founders.** Tactiq was built in Sydney. The website footer confirms this. While data centre location is (unconfirmed), the founding context means the product has grown in an environment that includes Australian customers and regulation. ASX50 companies are listed users.

**Strong AI workflow tooling.** Reusable custom prompts, one-click action items, and the AI Workflow Builder are genuinely useful for teams that run the same type of meeting repeatedly. Sales teams can set up a standard post-call CRM update workflow; legal teams can generate a standard file note format.

**Comprehensive compliance.** SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR, and HIPAA — the most complete compliance stack of the four tools reviewed here.

**In-meeting AI.** Ask questions during a live call — "What did we decide about the budget?" — and Tactiq queries the live transcript to answer. Useful in long, complex meetings.

---

## What it doesn't do well

**AI credits are rationed on lower plans.** Free users get 5 AI credits per month and Pro users get only 10\. One summary generation uses one credit. Ten summaries per month is limiting for a professional who has 10 meetings in a week. The Team plan (unlimited AI credits) is where Tactiq becomes fully functional for regular use.

**GST not stated.** The page now prices in AUD, which removes the currency risk, but it does not say whether the A$ figure includes GST.

**Data residency not confirmed.** Tactiq is Sydney-founded, but the specific location of its data infrastructure is not publicly stated. If data residency onshore is a requirement, you need to contact the vendor. (unconfirmed) — do not assume Australian data storage.

**GST not confirmed.** (unconfirmed) whether GST is added to invoices for Australian subscribers.

**Limited to Google Meet, Zoom, and Teams.** Tactiq works on these three platforms only (via Chrome). Webex, Slack Huddles, and others are not supported. Spinach and Bluedot have broader platform coverage.

**Chrome-only capture.** Tactiq requires the Chrome browser (or Edge). If your organisation standardises on Safari or Firefox, Tactiq will not work.

**No video storage.** Tactiq is transcript and summary only — it does not record video of the meeting. Bluedot is a better option if you need video replay.

---

## Australian fit

Tactiq has the best Australian fit of the four tools in this review, primarily because it was founded and built here.

- **Pricing:** AUD on the public page for Australian visitors (read 9 Oct 2026); GST treatment not stated.
- **Data residency:** Founded in Sydney; data centre location publicly (unconfirmed). Contact vendor. Do not assume Australian hosting.
- **GST:** Not stated on public pricing page — (unconfirmed).
- **Support:** No stated dedicated AU-hours support, but the Australian founding team suggests responsiveness to AU-specific queries.
- **AU-specific context:** ASX50 companies are noted users. The product has been built and grown in an environment that includes Australian enterprise customers.

For the majority of Australian professionals and small business teams, Tactiq delivers the best combination of price, usability, and AU-founder credibility in this category. The data residency question remains open — contact the vendor if your organisation has specific requirements.

**Recording consent:** Tactiq does not join as a visible bot, which means participants may not automatically know transcription is occurring. Tactiq allows you to configure an in-meeting notification that a transcript is being generated. Australian state laws vary on recording private conversations — in most cases at least one-party consent is sufficient, but check your specific obligations. You are responsible for managing consent appropriately. This is not legal advice.

---

## Alternatives

- [**Fireflies AI**](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/fireflies-ai-review-australia-2026/) — bot-based; broader platform support; stronger CRM integrations; US-hosted
- [**Granola**](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/granola-review-australia-2026/) — bot-free Mac app; good for individual users; US-hosted
- [**Otter AI**](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/otter-ai-review-australia-2026/) — bot-based; good free plan; strong for US companies; US-hosted
- [**Fathom**](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/fathom-review-australia-2026/) — bot-based; very generous free plan; clean UX; US-hosted

For bot-free tools with EU data hosting, see the Jamie and Bluedot reviews in this category.

---

## Bottom line

Tactiq is the recommended starting point for most Australians looking for an AI meeting notetaker. It is affordable, built by an Australian team, bot-free, covers the three main meeting platforms, and has one of the most complete compliance stacks in the category.

The Team plan at A$23.17 a month per user is the right tier for regular business use — unlimited transcripts, unlimited AI credits, and auto-sharing with teams. The Pro plan at A$11.42 a month works for individuals who want reliable transcripts and occasional AI summaries. The free plan is genuinely usable for someone who only needs a few meetings a month.

The unresolved data residency question is the main reason this review does not score higher on Australian Fit. If the vendor confirms Australian data hosting, that score rises and Tactiq becomes the clear top pick in the category.

---

## Score

| Criterion             | Score     | Notes                                                                                                                     |
| --------------------- | --------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Value for Money       | 4/5       | Pro at A$11.42/month is excellent value; Team at A$23.17 is competitive; free plan is usable                              |
| Ease of Use           | 4/5       | Chrome extension installs in minutes; live captions are immediate; AI summaries are one click                             |
| Feature Depth         | 4/5       | Live AI; reusable workflows; custom prompts; good integrations; covers the three main platforms                           |
| Australian Fit        | 4/5       | AU-founded; ASX50 users; native AUD pricing (up from 3 on 9 Oct 2026); data residency and GST treatment still unconfirmed |
| Reliability & Support | 2/5       | SOC 2 Type II; ISO 27001; GDPR + HIPAA; but data residency gap and no stated AU support hours                             |
| **Total**             | **18/25** | **⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good**                                                                                                        |

*Australian Fit gate: Australian Fit 3/5 — does not qualify for ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Excellent or category Top Pick. If vendor confirms AU data residency, Australian Fit rises to 4/5 and the gate condition for Top Pick is met.*

---

Update history 
- **9 Oct 2026** — **New edition: Tactiq shows Australians native AUD prices; Australian Fit 3 → 4 (total 17 → 18/25).** Was: USD figures (Pro US$8, Team US$16.67, Business US$29.17 per user a month, annual) converted at 1.40, with the local-currency display marked unconfirmed. Now, from `tactiq.io/buy` read in a browser on an Australian connection: **Pro A$11.42, Team A$23.17, Business A$44.25 per user a month billed annually, or A$17 / A$29 / A$59 monthly; Free A$0; Enterprise custom** — every card labelled AUD. `aud_native: true`. Data residency and GST treatment remain unconfirmed, so Australian Fit rises one point only (ratified under our scoring process). Source: AUD queue #431; capture `Dossiers/captures/tactiq-pricing-2026-10-09.txt`. The June edition is kept unchanged and linked above.
- **24 Sep 2026** — **1 Australian figure recut to the current basis.** It was converted at about **1.55** — the retired basis — inside a column headed ex-GST whose other rows were already at 1.4045\. Corrected to US$1 = A$1.4045 (Frankfurter/ECB, 18 September 2026): Team \~AUD $25.85/user/month → \~AUD $23.41/user/month. **No USD price moved and no score changed.** `reviewed:` untouched per our dating rule.
- **24 Sep 2026** — **4 Australian figures in the prose corrected to agree with this review's own pricing table.** The table was verified cell by cell earlier today; they still quoted the retired 1.55 basis, in 7 places — verdict lines, score rationales, the excerpt and the JSON-LD are where a reader actually meets a price, and a pairing check cannot see them because they name no USD figure alongside. Kept visible per our price-history rule: **AUD $12.40 → AUD $11.20**; **AUD $25.85 → AUD $23.41**; **AUD $26 → AUD $23**; **AUD $45.21 → AUD $40.84**. The replacement values are taken from the table, not recomputed, so the two now agree exactly. **No USD price moved and no score changed.** `reviewed:` untouched per our dating rule.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is Tactiq an Australian company?

Yes. Tactiq was founded in Sydney, Australia in 2020 by Nick Nikolaiev and Ksenia Svechnikova. The website confirms it is made in Sydney. ASX50 companies are noted among its users. Data centre location is not publicly confirmed — contact the vendor for data residency specifics.

### Does Tactiq join your meeting as a bot?

No. Tactiq uses a Chrome extension to transcribe meetings in real time. It does not join your call as a separate participant — other attendees do not see it in the attendee list. An in-meeting notification that transcription is occurring can be configured on paid plans.

### What does Tactiq cost in Australian dollars?

Tactiq prices Australians in Australian dollars: Pro is A$11.42 per user a month billed annually (A$17 monthly), Team A$23.17 (A$29 monthly) and Business A$44.25 (A$59 monthly). The free plan provides 10 transcripts and 5 AI credits per month. GST treatment is not stated on the pricing page — check your first invoice.

---

## Sources

- Tactiq pricing page (primary): [https://tactiq.io/buy](https://tactiq.io/buy?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — retrieved 26 June 2026 — [Wayback 14 August 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260814001155/https://tactiq.io/buy)
- Tactiq Trust Center (primary): [https://trust.tactiq.io](https://trust.tactiq.io/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — **verified live 5 September 2026**, listing SOC 2, ISO 27001:2022, GDPR and HIPAA, with a "SOC 2 Type 2 Report" and "ISO 27001 Certificate" available on request. *Trust centre is a JavaScript application: Wayback captures the page shell, not its text, so this citation is anchored to a live read rather than a snapshot.*
- Antler founder story (secondary): [https://www.antler.co/portfolio/founder-stories/tactiq](https://www.antler.co/portfolio/founder-stories/tactiq?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — [Wayback 18 May 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260518130104/https://www.antler.co/portfolio/founder-stories/tactiq)
- Tactiq footer: "Made with love in Sydney, Australia" — verified on tactiq.io, 26 June 2026
- Prices are the vendor's own AUD figures (tactiq.io/buy, read 9 Oct 2026 in a browser on an Australian connection; Wayback save queued the same day). GST treatment not stated on the page.
- Data residency: (unconfirmed) — specific data centre location not publicly stated. Verify with vendor.

---

---

*The AI Directory Australia is an independent editorial publication. We don't accept payment for positive reviews. Read our* [*Methodology*](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/methodology/) *and* [*Affiliate Disclosure*](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/affiliate-disclosure/)*.*