> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# D-ID Review Australia 2026: Is the Avatar Veteran Still Worth Paying For?
- URL: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/review-d-id-australia-2026/
- Published: 2026-06-27T23:00:00.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-09T06:29:11.000Z
- Description: D-ID turns a photo and a script into a talking avatar, and pioneered the genre — but in 2026 it bills in USD, stores your data in Oregon, and has been overtaken on realism. Here's whether a Melbourne operator should still pay.
- Author: Adam
- Tags: Video AI, #review

**14**/25

★★★☆☆

Good

D-ID

Verified 30 Sep 2026 Reviewed 28 Jun 2026 

Value for Money**3**/5

Ease of Use**4**/5

Feature Depth**3**/5

Australian Fit**1**/5

Reliability & Support**3**/5

From

**A$8**/mo · ex-GST · billed in USD ($5.90)

Your data

No Australian residency.

**The gate:** Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.

[Skip to the verdict ](#verdict) 

*Pricing figures updated 6 September 2026: USD prices are converted at the current rate (1 USD ≈ 1.40 AUD, verified 5 September 2026) and shown ex-GST, replacing the retired 1.55 + GST basis. A GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service; other buyers should allow \~10% on top (*[*Methodology*](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/methodology/)*).*

> **Verdict (TL;DR):** D-ID's Creative Reality Studio was one of the first tools to turn a single photo and a typed script into a talking avatar, and that heritage shows in how polished the workflow feels. But in 2026 it is no longer the front-runner. It bills **in USD only**, stores your data on AWS servers in **Oregon, USA** with no Australian residency option, and its avatars read more obviously synthetic than HeyGen's newer engines. The Pro plan at USD$29/mo (\~AUD$41/mo ex-GST) is fair if you mostly want a presenter for slides or a chatbot face. For weekly talking-head content, HeyGen or Synthesia now do it better for similar money. Buy D-ID for its API and agent features; look elsewhere if pure avatar realism is the job.  
>  
> **Score: 14/25 — ⭐⭐⭐ Good**  
>  
> *Last reviewed: 28 June 2026 by Adam.*

---

## Who this is for (and who it isn't)

**Consider D-ID if you** need a talking presenter for e-learning slides, a face for a website chatbot or "AI agent", or you are a developer who wants a clean avatar API to build into a product. Its credit-and-API model suits embedding avatars in software, not just exporting clips.

**Skip D-ID if you** want the most lifelike talking-head video you can buy, ship social or LinkedIn clips weekly, or need an Australian tax invoice and local data handling. On raw avatar realism in 2026, it has been passed.

## What D-ID is

D-ID is an AI video platform built around its Creative Reality Studio. You upload a photo or pick a stock presenter, type a script (or feed it audio), choose a voice, and it renders a video of that face speaking your words with lip-sync and subtle head movement.

The company has expanded well beyond single clips. Alongside Studio it sells an **API** for developers and an **Agents** product — interactive, real-time avatars that hold a back-and-forth conversation, aimed at customer-facing chat and kiosks. That agent angle is where D-ID now puts much of its marketing weight, and it is a genuine point of difference from rivals that only export pre-rendered video.

Usage is metered two ways: **credits** (the headline currency) and **video minutes**, with minutes billed in 15-second increments rounded up. The vendor's own FAQ confirms that monthly minutes reset each month and any unused minutes are forfeited — there is no rollover.

## What it costs in Australia

D-ID prices its Studio plans **in USD only**. There is no AUD price list on the site, even on the page served to Australian visitors. Conversions below use **AUD ≈ 1.40 × USD**, the rate noted across our reviews as at mid-2026.

| Plan           | USD/mo (monthly) | USD/mo (annual) | \~AUD/mo ex-GST  | Included                       | Key limits                              |
| -------------- | ---------------- | --------------- | ---------------- | ------------------------------ | --------------------------------------- |
| **Trial**      | $0               | $0              | $0               | Small one-off credit allowance | Full-screen watermark on every video    |
| **Lite**       | $5.90            | $4.70           | \~$8 (monthly)   | 40 credits, 10 video min/mo    | D-ID watermark remains                  |
| **Pro**        | $29.00           | $16.00          | \~$41 (monthly)  | 60 credits, 15 video min/mo    | No watermark; the practical entry point |
| **Advanced**   | $196.00          | $108.00         | \~$274 (monthly) | 400 credits, 100 video min/mo  | Higher volume, team use                 |
| **Enterprise** | Contact sales    | —               | —                | Custom minutes + API + agents  | Security, SSO, dedicated support        |

*Plan names, USD prices and credit/minute allowances from* [*D-ID — Studio Pricing*](https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)*, captured 28 June 2026 (Wayback snapshot below). Annual billing is materially cheaper per month than monthly billing on every paid tier.* — [Wayback 28 June 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002527/https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/)

**The credit trap.** Credits, not minutes, are the binding limit on most plans — and premium features (higher-resolution avatars, the more lifelike engines) burn credits faster than the plain minutes figure suggests. Read the credit number, not the minutes line, and test on the Trial before committing. The "10 minutes" on Lite is a soft ceiling once you use anything beyond the basic presenter.

**The watermark catch.** Both the Trial and the Lite plan stamp a D-ID watermark on every video, per the vendor's FAQ. That makes Lite useless for client-facing work — Pro at USD$29/mo is the real floor for anyone publishing commercially.

**GST.** Like most offshore SaaS, D-ID shows ex-GST USD prices and makes no GST statement on its pricing page. Under Australia's imported-digital-services rules, expect roughly 10% GST applied at an AUD-converted checkout, plus a foreign-currency conversion fee from your card issuer. Whether D-ID issues a compliant tax invoice showing an ABN is not stated anywhere on its site — confirm at checkout before you rely on it for a BAS claim.

**Value verdict:** Pro at a real-world \~AUD$41/mo ex-GST is acceptable, not generous. It buys you a watermark-free presenter and a workable credit pool. But HeyGen's Creator plan lands at almost the same price with a more lifelike avatar engine, so D-ID's value case now rests on its API and agents rather than on clip quality.

## How it works in practice

First value is quick. Sign up, pick a stock presenter or upload a face, paste a script, choose a voice, and generate — a short clip is ready in a couple of minutes, no editing software required. The Studio interface is clean and has had years of refinement, which shows.

The friction is the credit accounting. Because credits, minutes and 15-second rounding all interact, it is easy to burn through a month's allowance faster than expected, especially while you are still experimenting. Budget your first month as testing, not production.

The Agents product is the more interesting workflow: you configure a real-time talking avatar that can answer questions live, which is a different proposition from rendering a fixed video. It is powerful, but it is also where you will spend the most setup time and the most credits.

## Where it's strong

- **Genuine pedigree and a polished Studio.** D-ID helped invent photo-to-talking-avatar video, and the Studio interface reflects that maturity — it is stable and easy to navigate.
- **Real-time interactive agents.** The Agents product lets an avatar hold a live conversation, useful for website chat, kiosks and support — something most pre-rendered rivals don't offer.
- **A serious developer API.** D-ID's API is well-documented and widely used to embed avatars in third-party products, which is its strongest commercial moat.
- **Strong security certifications.** D-ID holds SOC 2 plus ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001 and 27799 (the health-informatics standard), per its Trust Center — a broader certification stack than many avatar competitors publish.
- **Fast first output.** A basic talking clip renders in roughly two minutes with no editing skills required.

## Where it's weak

- **The avatars read more synthetic than the leaders.** In 2026, HeyGen's Avatar IV/V and Synthesia's newer presenters look noticeably more natural. D-ID's output is fine for slides and chatbots; it is a harder sell as the on-screen face of your brand.
- **USD-only billing.** No AUD price list, so you wear currency conversion and likely a card forex fee on every charge.
- **No Australian data residency.** Application data is processed on AWS servers in Oregon, USA, per D-ID's privacy policy. Website and CRM data sits with US-based Salesforce, HubSpot and Zendesk. Material if you are uploading client faces or sensitive content.
- **The credit and watermark structure is unfriendly at the bottom.** Lite's watermark and tight credits make it a non-starter for commercial use, pushing you to Pro sooner than the headline pricing implies.
- **No Australian presence.** No AU-hours support line, no local entity, and no stated ABN tax invoice.

## Australian fit

- **Available in AU:** Yes — fully accessible, no geo-blocking.
- **Pricing in AUD:** No. USD only, converted at checkout ([D-ID — Studio Pricing](https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)). — [Wayback 28 June 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002527/https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/)
- **GST:** Not stated on the pricing page. Assume \~10% GST is applied at an AUD checkout under imported-digital-services rules. D-ID publishes nothing confirming it issues a compliant tax invoice showing an ABN — confirm at checkout.
- **Data residency:** No Australian residency. Application data is hosted on AWS in **Oregon, USA**; website and support data sits with US-based providers ([D-ID — Privacy Policy](https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)). Your scripts, photos and any trained likeness are processed offshore. — [Wayback 28 June 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002807/https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/)
- **Compliance:** SOC 2 and ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001 and 27799 certifications ([D-ID — Trust Center](https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)). Strong on paper, but governed under US and EU frameworks, not Australian. You remain responsible under Australian law for consent and for not producing misleading or deceptive content with a synthetic likeness. — [Wayback 3 September 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260903235132/https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/)
- **Local support:** No AU-hours support and no local entity. Support is online and US/EU-timezone-weighted.

**Australian Fit is the weak leg here** — USD billing, US-only data residency, no confirmed ABN invoice and no local support. That holds the overall rating down regardless of how capable the product is (see Score).

## The score

| Criterion             | Score     | Notes                                                                                                                               |
| --------------------- | --------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Value for Money       | 3/5       | Pro at \~AUD$41/mo ex-GST is fair, but rivals match it with better realism; Lite's watermark and credit limits sour the cheap tier. |
| Ease of Use           | 4/5       | Mature, clean Studio; a basic clip in \~2 minutes. Credit/minute accounting is the one source of friction.                          |
| Feature Depth         | 3/5       | Real-time agents and a strong API are genuine differentiators, but the core avatar realism now trails HeyGen and Synthesia.         |
| Australian Fit        | 1/5       | USD-only, data hosted in Oregon, no AU residency, no confirmed ABN invoice, no AU-hours support.                                    |
| Reliability & Support | 3/5       | Strong SOC 2 / ISO certification stack and a stable platform, but support is offshore with no local entity.                         |
| **Total**             | **14/25** | ⭐⭐⭐ Good                                                                                                                            |

*Australian Fit Gate: with AU Fit at 1/5, D-ID cannot earn a five-star Excellent rating or be named a category Top Pick regardless of its raw total. The raw 14/25 already sits in the three-star Good band, so no additional star cap is applied. See the* [*Methodology*](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/methodology/) *page.*

## Verdict

D-ID is the avatar tool that got here first, and you can feel that head start in how settled the Studio is to use. But "first" is not "best" in 2026\. On the one job most buyers care about — a talking head that looks convincingly human — HeyGen and Synthesia have moved ahead, and they charge similar money. Where D-ID still earns its keep is the part rivals neglect: a strong developer API and real-time conversational agents you can drop into a website or kiosk.

So the recommendation splits. If you are a developer or a business that wants to *embed* an avatar — a chatbot face, an interactive agent, an avatar inside your own app — D-ID at Pro (\~AUD$41/mo ex-GST) is a sensible, well-certified choice. If you simply want to *export* the most lifelike talking-head clips for marketing or training, spend the same money on HeyGen instead. And whichever way you go, go in clear-eyed: you will be billed in USD, your data lives in Oregon, and there is no Australian tax invoice or local support to fall back on.

Update history 
- **30 Sep 2026 — re-verified by browser; negative confirmed, ladder clean.** `d-id.com/pricing/studio` on an Australian connection: Lite $5.90 a month or $4.70 billed annually, Pro $29 or $16, Advanced $196 or $108, with 40 / 60 / 400 credits and 10 / 15 / 100 video minutes a month; a 14-day trial with 3 minutes; Enterprise by quote. Every figure holds. Bare `$`, no `A$`. `aud_native: false` set. Score unchanged. Capture: `Dossiers/captures/d-id-pricing-2026-09-30.txt`; [Wayback 30 Sep 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260929230308/https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/).
- **21 Sep 2026** — **The verdict's “\~AUD$45 landed” removed and the word “landed” retired across the review.** The verdict quoted Pro at **both** *\~AUD$41/mo before GST* and *\~AUD$45 landed* in one bracket, which is the same plan at two Australian prices; A$45 is A$41 grossed up 10% for GST, and our GST rule says we do not do that — a GST-registered Australian business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service. **A$41 is unchanged** (US$29 at USD→AUD 1.4045 (ECB reference rate, 18 September 2026)) and is the only Australian price the review now gives. The pricing table header read *“\~AUD/mo landed (ex-GST)”*, which says both things at once; “landed” normally means the grossed-up figure, so it is gone from the header, the value verdict, the score table and the recommendation, all of which were already carrying the correct A$41\. No USD price moved and no score changed. Superseded figure kept visible per our price-history rule; `reviewed:` untouched per our dating rule.
- **24 Sep 2026** — **1 Australian figure recut to the current basis.** It was converted at about **1.72** — the retired basis — inside a column headed ex-GST whose other rows were already at 1.4045\. Corrected to US$1 = A$1.4045 (Frankfurter/ECB, 18 September 2026): Pro \~$50 (monthly) → \~$41 (monthly). **No USD price moved and no score changed.** `reviewed:` untouched per our dating rule.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is D-ID available in Australia?

Yes — fully accessible with no geo-blocking. But there is no Australian presence: no AU data residency, no AU-hours support line and no local entity. Your scripts, photos and any trained likeness are processed offshore on AWS servers in Oregon, USA.

### Does D-ID charge in AUD?

No. D-ID prices in USD only. The Pro plan is USD$29/month on monthly billing (about A$41 before GST, roughly A$41 ex-GST), dropping to USD$16/month equivalent on annual billing. Expect a foreign-currency conversion fee on your card too.

### Is there a free plan?

There is a free Trial, but every video carries a full-screen D-ID watermark, and the credit allowance is small. The cheapest paid tier, Lite, still watermarks your videos — you need Pro (USD$29/month) to publish watermark-free.

### Where does D-ID store my data?

Application data is hosted on Amazon Web Services in Oregon, USA, per D-ID's privacy policy. Website and support data sits with US-based Salesforce, HubSpot and Zendesk. There is no Australian data-residency option.

### Is D-ID better than HeyGen?

Not for pure avatar realism in 2026 — HeyGen's newer Avatar engines look more natural for similar money. D-ID's edge is its developer API and its real-time conversational agents, which suit embedding an avatar into a product rather than exporting marketing clips.

## Read next

- Category guide: [Best AI Video Tools in Australia 2026](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/best-ai-video-tools-australia-2026/)
- Compare: [HeyGen Review Australia 2026](https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/heygen-review-australia-2026/)

## Sources

1. [D-ID — Studio Pricing](https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — plan names, USD prices, credits and video-minute allowances, watermark and minute-rounding FAQ (accessed 28 June 2026). — [Wayback 28 June 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002527/https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/)
2. [D-ID — Privacy Policy](https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — data hosted on AWS in Oregon USA; website/CRM data with US-based Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk; GDPR transfer mechanisms (accessed 28 June 2026). — [Wayback 28 June 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002807/https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/)
3. [D-ID — Trust Center](https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — SOC 2 and ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 42001, 27799 certifications (accessed 28 June 2026). — [Wayback 3 September 2026](https://web.archive.org/web/20260903235132/https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/)

*Conversions use AUD ≈ 1.40 × USD; Figures are ex-GST: a GST-registered business that supplies its ABN is not charged GST on an imported digital service; other buyers add \~10%. unless D-ID states otherwise. D-ID does not publish a per-feature credit-burn rate, so we describe premium credit consumption qualitatively rather than cite an unverified figure.*

---

*The AI Directory Australia is an independent publication. We accept no payment for reviews and hold no commercial relationship with D-ID. Pricing and features change — verify current figures on the vendor's site before purchasing.*

*Reviewed by Adam. First published 28 June 2026.*

### Source archive — Wayback snapshots

*Captured 28 June 2026 unless noted.*

1. https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/ — [Wayback snapshot](https://web.archive.org/web/20260628002527/https://www.d-id.com/pricing/studio/) (captured 28 June 2026)
2. https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/ — [Wayback snapshot](https://web.archive.org/web/20260618072242/https://www.d-id.com/privacy-policy/) (most recent capture, 18 June 2026)
3. https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/ — [Wayback snapshot](https://web.archive.org/web/20260527085440/https://www.d-id.com/security-and-privacy-compliance/) (most recent capture, 27 May 2026)