> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Billroo Review Australia 2026: A Local Budgeting App With US-Hosted Data
- URL: https://www.theaidirectory.com.au/billroo-review-australia-2026/
- Published: 2026-06-27T23:00:00.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-09T06:27:41.000Z
- Description: Billroo is an Australian-made budgeting app with real Open Banking support and AUD pricing. The catch: your financial data is hosted in the US, and the AI is a capped add-on.
- Author: Adam
- Tags: Personal Finance & Budgeting, Billroo, #review

**16**/25

★★★★☆

Very Good

Billroo

Verified 28 Jun 2026 

Value for Money**3**/5

Ease of Use**4**/5

Feature Depth**3**/5

Australian Fit**3**/5

Reliability & Support**3**/5

From

**A$9.99**/mo · inc. GST · billed in AUD

**The gate:** Five stars need 21+ and Australian Fit of at least 4/5.

[Skip to the verdict ](#verdict) 

> **The verdict:** Billroo is one of the few budgeting apps actually built in Australia, and it shows: it connects to your bank through the Consumer Data Right, prices everything in AUD, and is run by a small Sydney-based team. For a Melbourne business owner who wants to see where the money goes, it does the core job well. Two things hold it back. Your financial data is hosted in the United States, not Australia. And the AI — despite the marketing — is a metered, capped add-on, not the reason to buy. Recommended as a budgeting tool, not as an "AI" tool. Score: 16/25 — Very Good.

---

Billroo is a personal budgeting app from Billroo Operations Pty Ltd (ABN 34 676 806 429), an Australian company founded by Queenie Tan and Pablo Bizzini, with a team of seven across Sydney, Perth and Wellington. [Source](https://billroo.com/about/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Per a 2026 founder interview, it has passed roughly 5,000 users. [Source](https://dynamicbusiness.com/featured/founder-friday/how-queenie-tan-built-billroo-from-a-30k-bootstrap-journey.html?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Billroo doesn't publish a launch date on any of its primary pages. It connects to your Australian bank accounts through Open Banking, sorts your transactions automatically, and lets you set budgets and spending limits. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) There is also an AI assistant bolted on top. This review is for everyday Australians and small business owners who want a clear picture of their spending — and who care where their data lives.

A note up front: this is a finance tool, not financial advice. Billroo helps you track and budget. It does not replace a qualified accountant or financial adviser, and you should treat its tax-related features as a starting point, not a tax return.

## What it does well

- **Real Open Banking, not a screen-scraper.** Billroo connects your bank accounts through Australia's Consumer Data Right (CDR) framework, via accredited provider Fiskil. That means read-only access to your transactions without handing over your bank login or password — and you can disconnect or revoke access at any time from settings. [Source](https://billroo.com/security/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) This is the proper, regulated way to do bank connections in Australia, and many overseas apps simply can't.
- **Automatic categorisation.** Transactions are sorted into categories as they come in, so you are not manually tagging every coffee and fuel stop.
- **Budgets that bend to your life.** You can build custom budget categories, labels and spending limits, and set a custom budget cycle rather than being locked to a calendar month — useful if your pay or your BAS cycle doesn't line up with the first of the month. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **Clear spending views.** You get a breakdown by category and account balances across multiple connected accounts in one place.
- **Manual entry and CSV upload.** For anything Open Banking doesn't cover, you can add transactions by hand or upload a CSV. Tags help you organise across accounts. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **A tax-deductible report.** Billroo's Tax Deductible Report scans your transactions and flags expenses you might be able to claim — handy for a sole trader at year end, though it is a prompt, not a substitute for your accountant. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **Web and iOS apps.** Billroo is available on desktop and mobile; the iPhone app requires iOS 17.0 or later. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

## Watch out for

- **Your financial data is hosted in the United States.** This is the big one. Billroo is an Australian company operating under the Privacy Act 1988 and the Australian Privacy Principles — but its privacy policy states that infrastructure is hosted on Google Cloud and that "your personal information may be transferred to recipients located in United States of America," with AWS, Stripe and Anthropic also in the stack. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest. [Source](https://billroo.com/privacy-policy/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Still: if you assumed an Australian-made finance app keeps your data onshore, it does not.
- **The AI is a capped add-on, not the core.** "Ask Billroo AI" and the AI insights are metered by a monthly credit allowance — 30 credits on Pro, 50 on Plus. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Heavier use means buying top-up packs (A$12 for 50 credits up to A$70 for 500). [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) The AI is a feature, not the engine. Buy Billroo for budgeting, not for an AI assistant.
- **No free tier.** There is a 14-day full-access trial, but you need a valid payment method to start it. There is no permanently free plan. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **Open Banking is the AU advantage — outside Australia you're back to manual.** If your bank isn't Australian, you fall back to manual entry and CSV upload. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **It's a young product with a small team.** A team of seven and roughly 5,000 users [Source](https://dynamicbusiness.com/featured/founder-friday/how-queenie-tan-built-billroo-from-a-30k-bootstrap-journey.html?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) — a limited track record next to established budgeting apps. Support is email and help-centre based, and priority support sits behind the dearer Plus tier. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)
- **Privacy labels mention advertising/marketing use.** Per the App Store data-collection labels, contact info (email, name) may be collected for the developer's advertising or marketing purposes. [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

## Pricing

All prices are in Australian dollars. The AU App Store lists the in-app purchases in AUD; Billroo is an Australian company and bills in AUD. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

| Plan                                               | Price (AUD)                                                   |
| -------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Billroo Pro — monthly (1 user, 30 AI credits/mo)   | A$9.99 / month                                                |
| Billroo Pro — annual (1 user, 30 AI credits/mo)    | A$98.99 / year                                                |
| Billroo Plus — monthly (2 users, 50 AI credits/mo) | A$14.99 / month                                               |
| Billroo Plus — annual (2 users, 50 AI credits/mo)  | A$149.99 / year                                               |
| AI Credit top-up packs                             | A$12 (50) · A$20 (100) · A$34 (200) · A$40 (250) · A$70 (500) |
| Free trial                                         | 14 days full access (payment method required)                 |

Plan, user and AI-credit figures are from Billroo's pricing page; the top-up pack prices and credit counts are from the AU App Store in-app purchase list. [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

**GST:** Billroo does not state whether these prices include GST. Australian consumer prices are normally shown GST-inclusive, but the vendor doesn't confirm it on its pricing page or App Store listing, so we can't confirm the GST treatment either way.

The annual Pro plan works out to about A$8.25 a month — a meaningful saving over A$9.99 monthly. That's our calculation from the listed annual price, not a vendor quote. The Plus tier only earns its keep if you need a second user or want priority support.

## Australian fit

This is the criterion that matters most to us, and Billroo is a genuine mixed bag.

**The good:** It is Australian-made. It prices in AUD. And it uses the real Consumer Data Right / Open Banking system through an accredited provider, which is the correct, regulated path for connecting Australian bank accounts. [Source](https://billroo.com/security/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Support comes from an Australian-based team. For local relevance, that's a strong start — most budgeting apps Australians use are American.

**The catch:** Despite all of the above, financial data is hosted in the United States, not Australia. [Source](https://billroo.com/privacy-policy/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) For some readers that's a deal-breaker; for others, encrypted US hosting under a Privacy Act-bound Australian company is acceptable. Either way, you should know it before you connect your bank. Note that Billroo does not hold CDR accreditation itself — it relies on its partner Fiskil's accreditation as the accredited data recipient. [Source](https://billroo.com/security/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) The vendor also doesn't confirm whether its prices include GST.

Net: strong on local pricing, local team and local banking integration; weak on data residency. That's why Australian Fit doesn't score top marks here.

## Scoring

| Criterion             | Score | Reason                                                                                                |
| --------------------- | ----- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Value for Money       | 3/5   | Fair monthly price and a useful annual discount, but no free tier and the AI is a paid, capped extra. |
| Ease of Use           | 4/5   | Open Banking auto-connect plus automatic categorisation gets a non-technical user to value fast.      |
| Feature Depth         | 3/5   | Solid budgeting toolkit, but the headline AI is shallow and metered, and it's a young product.        |
| Australian Fit        | 3/5   | AU-made, AUD pricing and real CDR Open Banking — undercut by US data hosting and unconfirmed GST.     |
| Reliability & Support | 3/5   | Small young team, email-only support, priority help gated behind the higher tier.                     |

**Total: 16/25 — ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Very Good**

Update history 
- **28 Jun 2026** — First reviewed.

## Frequently asked questions

**Is Billroo Australian?** Yes. Billroo Operations Pty Ltd (ABN 34 676 806 429) is an Australian company founded by Queenie Tan and Pablo Bizzini, with a team across Sydney, Perth and Wellington. [Source](https://billroo.com/about/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) It operates under the Privacy Act 1988 and uses Australia's CDR / Open Banking framework. [Source](https://billroo.com/security/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

**Is my data stored in Australia?** No. Although Billroo is an Australian company, its privacy policy says infrastructure is hosted on Google Cloud and your personal information may be transferred to and stored in the United States, with AWS, Stripe and Anthropic in the stack. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest. [Source](https://billroo.com/privacy-policy/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) If onshore data storage is essential for you, factor this in.

**How does Billroo connect to my bank?** Through Open Banking under Australia's Consumer Data Right, via accredited provider Fiskil. It's read-only access to your transactions — you don't share your bank login or password, and you can revoke access anytime from settings. [Source](https://billroo.com/security/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

**Is the AI worth paying for?** Treat it as a bonus, not the reason to subscribe. "Ask Billroo AI" and the AI insights run on a monthly credit allowance (30 on Pro, 50 on Plus). [Source](https://billroo.com/pricing/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) Beyond that you buy top-up packs (A$12 for 50 credits up to A$70 for 500). [Source](https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459?ref=theaidirectory.com.au) It's a capped add-on, not an unlimited assistant.

**Is there a free version?** No free tier — just a 14-day full-access trial, and you need to enter a valid payment method to start it. [Source](https://billroo.com/?ref=theaidirectory.com.au)

**Does Billroo replace an accountant?** No. Its tax-deductible report and budgeting tools are useful prompts, but this is a tracking tool, not professional advice. Check anything tax-related with a qualified accountant.

## Sources

Primary sources verified for this review, each with a Wayback Machine snapshot. Exchange rate noted at US$1 ≈ A$1.40 (September 2026); Billroo prices natively in AUD, so no conversion was required. Last verified 29 June 2026.

- Billroo — Pricing (plans, users, AI credit allowances): https://billroo.com/pricing/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260629032416/https://billroo.com/pricing/
- Billroo — Privacy Policy (US data hosting, Google Cloud/AWS/Stripe/Anthropic, Privacy Act 1988, ABN, encryption): https://billroo.com/privacy-policy/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260214223301/https://billroo.com/privacy-policy/
- Billroo — Security (Open Banking, Fiskil accreditation, read-only access, revoke, encryption): https://billroo.com/security/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260523003329/https://billroo.com/security/
- Billroo — About us (founders, team across Sydney/Perth/Wellington): https://billroo.com/about/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260523003330/https://billroo.com/about/
- Billroo — Home (web + mobile, 14-day trial, tax-deductible report, manual/CSV fallback): https://billroo.com/ — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260523003302/https://billroo.com/
- Apple App Store (AU) — Billroo: Budget & Finance (AI credit top-up packs, iOS 17 requirement, advertising/marketing data label): https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459 — snapshot: https://web.archive.org/web/20260409141044/https://apps.apple.com/au/app/billroo-budget-finance/id6748367459
- Help Center — "Is Billroo Safe?" (encryption, CDR, read-only, revoke): https://help.billroo.com/en/articles/7636225 — snapshot pending
- Dynamic Business (secondary, founder interview) — \~5,000 users, bootstrap story: https://dynamicbusiness.com/featured/founder-friday/how-queenie-tan-built-billroo-from-a-30k-bootstrap-journey.html — snapshot pending

**A note on what we couldn't confirm:** Billroo does not state whether its prices include GST (no inclusive/exclusive wording on the pricing page or App Store listing), and it does not publish a launch date on any of its primary pages. We've flagged both in the body rather than assert a figure we can't source.